Things we Hate to Love

Talking about stuff we love to hate is fun and makes for rip-roaring good rants. We can all ream off a good many things on our pet peeve list – the things that irk us, piss us off, annoy us, drive us crazy, etc., etc. We’ve all blogged them in various forms.

But what about the things we hate to love?

Those little things we don’t talk about very often —  or at all sometimes? Those things we enjoy, indulge in and look forward to eagerly while at the same time hating that we enjoy, indulge in and look forward to them eagerly?

For me, the first thing that comes to mind is my stupid cat, Bazel. Whenever I’m away, even for just one day, I’m close to almost being giddy with excitement to see his bitey little face again. When I’m out shopping I always look to see if there’s a fun new toy he might like. When I get home, before I even take off my coat and shoes, I actually spend valuable time scrunched on the floor next to him, petting him for as long as he lets me and… (gulp)… talking nonsense at him about what a handsome boy he is and trying to guess what he did all day (out loud) and telling him what a good kitty he is. Yes, he is.

It makes me cuckoo that I do these things because I never wanted a cat in the first place. We only got him because, after years of XUP Jr. begging me for a pet, I finally caved when some woman was giving away kittens. I went out of my way not to bond with him because he was supposed to be her cat. And she did a marvelous job of looking after him and playing with him, she really did, but it was always me he wanted to hang out with and gnaw on. He’s my albatross, the little bastard.

What about you? Is there anything you hate to love? I’m not talking about so-called “guilty pleasures” so much. I don’t mean those junk food binges we sometimes enjoy or the crappy TV shows we all watch or the occasional bad novel we enjoy reading. Because we just usually love to love those things, we just don’t like to admit them.

I mean something that you really wish you didn’t love/like so much. Or something that you really enjoy doing but it makes you feel like a retard for doing it. Or something that you do that perhaps makes you feel like a big hypocrite.

Like an avid vegetarian secretly sneaking off for a big bacon breakfast once a month maybe. (Not me.)  Or a married fundamentalist Christian televangelist keeping a male lover on the side. (Not that that could happen). Or like David Suzuki loving to tool around the bush on an ATV on his days off. (Not that he would. I made that up.) Or a regular working joe type guy wearing silky panties under his dungarees and toolbelt. (No butt crack.) Or even something a little more innocuous???

‘Fess up.

Hope you’re all having a great Two-Four Weekend Canada people!

25 responses to “Things we Hate to Love

  1. Shopping. Not even buying things, necessarily, but browsing. Or shopping for necessities like groceries or household stuff. I like it. It calms me down. It entertains me. I’m not an over-spender, but I am a shopper. Which doesn’t exactly fit in with my own image of myself.

  2. Farmville.

    I joke that it’s my landscape planning software.

    I love getting dirty and gardening, I really love shovelling animal shit (well, not pigs and I’m glad chicken shit is only once a month). I’m so excited about all the work we have in the next year setting up our little mini farm.

    Farmville is so creepily disconnected from the real thing, but I still feel a sense of satisfaction surveying my fields on it.

  3. Air conditioning. Love it. Can’t live without it. I know I should give it up for environmental and also $$$ reasons…but I cannot. The worst is at night when it is too hot to sleep. I feel so happy when the house is comfortable and I’m not schvitzing. Shameful I know…especially from a green perspective. 😦

  4. I’d have to say my worst ones are songs I love to sing to. Some really hideous songs that everyone claims to hate. I’m not going to say what any of them are, but they are pretty bad.

  5. Military technology

    Everything from thermonuclear weapons to stealth aircraft to submarine detection systems. It’s nasty stuff and a big waste of money, but very interesting regardless.

  6. Jennifer – I love grocery shopping, too. But I don’t hate that I love it. I think it’s crazy how many people hate grocery shopping – probably the same people who hate cooking. I think grocery shopping is a free pass on the whole shopping/spending money thing.

    Mudmama – I used to play that. It WAS a lot of fun, but then I got tired of it. I’m sure you will, too, in due time. Especially now that you have a real farm – which is a very cool thing, by the way and I’m more than a little envious.

    MM – I think if you can enjoy guilt-free heating in the winter, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t enjoy guilt-free cooling in the summer. Air conditioning also filters out some of the nasty allergens floating around in warmer weather. It’s possible to enjoy cooled air without going overboard like a lot of people do. There’s no reason for it to be like a refrigerator in your home or office and still enjoy a cooler, less humid temperature inside.

    Geewits – Why do you hate that you love to sing bad songs? Lots of people make tons of money singing bad songs. Some even sing them badly.

    Milan – Good one. Sort of like my feelings on haute couture. I can’t look away. It’s so creative, so breath-taking sometimes – so insane. But also so frivolous. And in both cases – military technology and haute couture – some of it does get filtered down for some practical, useful applications eventually, doesn’t it?

  7. And in both cases – military technology and haute couture – some of it does get filtered down for some practical, useful applications eventually, doesn’t it?

    Sure! LASERs, RADAR, the Internet, rocketry…

    Many military technologies eventually diffuse into the civilian world. Much of what we know about climate science is even indirectly connected to the military.

    Ask me how!

  8. My favorite military invention is surgical glue aka crazy glue, you have no idea how many ER visits I’ve avoided with that stuff!

  9. Easy. Meat and cheese.
    Any kind of meat.
    Beef, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb, fish, duck or sea cucumber.
    Any kind of cheese.
    Cheddar, mozzerella, oka, gouda, brie, camembert, riccotta, cream, cottage, farmers, blue, havarti, limburger and feta – love ’em all!
    Intellectually, I know that too much of this stuff is bad for me, but I can’t help it!
    I could eat meat and cheese exclusively… and this would lead to my early demise.

  10. I couldn’t think of anything until you mentioned fashion. How shallow is it that I love clothes and “Project Runway” and patterns and fabric and shoes.

    My reason for not liking grocery shopping is because it makes me worry about all the food that might not get bought and so go to waste. It’s a mental aberration and I have trained myself not to dwell on it because when I do, I get all anxious and have to leave the store.

  11. Reality TV! In particular I’m A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here. I hate that, a load of B listers that I’ve never heard of, in a made safe jungle environment, screaming over doing admittedly scarey tasks although not dangerous ones, with medics and experts standing by, wearing skimpy bikinis and pleading for votes. I look down at people who watch it but I find it very addictive and tape it in secret and watch it when my boyfriend is out!

  12. Wrapping paper. I yearn for the good ol’ days when it wasn’t considered a planet-killing offense to use band new pretty wrapping paper for birthday and Christmas gifts. I used to scour card shops and stationary stores for interesting paper, preferably on sale, to wrap gifts in. Friends used to compliment me on how I always seemed to find the prettiest wrapping paper. I still have a few sheets here and there, bought years ago. Nowadays relatives trade back and forth the same gift bags, reusing them over and over and over. It’s good for the planet and it bores me to tears. I miss paper wrap.

  13. My guilty pleasure is “wikisurfing”. It’s really embarrassing when you get caught at it, especially by your mom.
    Thats why I only do it late at night and in the dark.

  14. Milan – How? No!! Wait. Maybe you could do a post of your own on it if you haven’t already??

    Mudmama – Ewww. Really? Like gluing up stab wounds and stuff, you mean?

    Meanie – What gossip websites? Do tell!!

    Friar – Ugh! I know what you mean. I keep thinking there must be something more useful I could be writing all this time.

    Trashy – Hmm…can’t see the attraction. I like cheese, but I could live without it.Sea cucumber?? Is that considered “meat”??

    Julia – Project Runway is valuable research. Right? And about the groceries – you’re worried that people aren’t going to buy all the mounds of tomatoes? Like that? That’s weird. It think they give some leftover perishables to the Food Bank and places like that if that makes you feel any better.

    Catherine – Wow, I’ve never even heard of this show. Is there no end to the crazy reality shows out there?

    Mary Lynn – Poor you. I think there’s environmentally friendly wrapping paper out there now. If not, maybe you could invent some?? I never liked the stuff myself. I didn’t like the way it felt or the fact that you had to spend a lot of time trying to make it pretty and then someone just ripped it off and then we had a big pile of wrapping paper. I always tried to find ways to present gifts without wrapping paper long before it was fashionable to do so. People laughed at me. I don’t like gift bags either. They’re just gross.

    Lebowski – Ha ha – your mom is altogether way too involved in your life, I think.

  15. Yeah, seriously, like gluing up stab wounds. Thats what crazy glue/super glue was designed for. It was in medics field kits during Vietnam and then when they came home it went into ER use and into production as adhesive for household repair.

    It’s great for pressure cuts (which won’t meet so keep bleeding.). You just pour it in there and it feels all nice and warm and makes a waterproof bandage that falls off in a few days. Better than spending an afternoon at the ER. Its nice and cheap too.

  16. i rely on laineygossip.com for my news. and she links to other reliable gossip sites so i don’t have to go searching for more news. she makes me laugh and i love her passion for fashion.

  17. I’m classic. A vegetarian grabbing a furtive bacon wrapped sausage now and then. (that’s not a figurative statement.)

  18. Mudmama – I think I’d be afraid to try that.

    Finola – Shhh. I love paper towels, too.

    Meanie – I’ll have to check it out.

    Pearl – Really? I’ve never ever done that. I occasionally get a yen for something meaty, but it quickly passes when I think about the animal involved.

  19. I hate that I am such a good little consumer. When I finish up the last of something, say a bottle of shampoo, it makes me so satisfied to use up the last and happy that I get to buy another bottle. I love reading labels and seriously deliberating what my next purchase will be. It feels so …adult to me. You’d think at nearly 40 the kid-like joy of buying something “all on my own” would have worn off, but no. Not at all.

  20. Susan – I know! It’s fun, eh — especially drug store shopping and grocery shopping and you get to pick whatever you want. Seriously though, we have to enjoy these small perks of being a grown-up considering all the responsiblities that go along with it.