Are You Being Served?

I took yesterday off to recuperate. I did some laundry, played with the cat, caught up on some blogs and then … I had to go out and get some groceries so we’d have something to eat for the rest of the week.

The cashier at Loblaws never made eye contact. The grumpy look on her face suggested some sort of extreme intestinal distress. She slammed my groceries into my bags willy-nilly with no thought to perhaps not putting tin cans on top of the bananas. When she was through, she mumbled something and pointed vaguely at her cash register screen. I punched in my debit card stuff, grabbed my bags and left.

I know I’ve complained about customer service before, but yesterday’s experience, coming right on top of a week of friendly, impeccable service really irked me and seriously depressed me.

We’ve actually become accustomed to being treated like annoyances in our retail establishments. We’ve come to expect nothing in the way of service. We are surprised and even suspicious when a sales clerk or cashier actually speaks to us like human beings.

How did this happen? It wasn’t too long ago that the customer was “king”; that the customer was always right; that customer service was what made or broke a business.

Why are we now the pesky people who interrupt personal phone calls or intimate conversations with co-workers? Why have we become less worthy of attention and respect than the dirt the cashier scraped off her shoe that morning? Why is our custom of no value whatsoever to retailers anymore?

Are they so overwhelmed with people spending money in their establishments that they actively try to discourage more people coming through their doors? Because that’s what it feels like.

Or have they discovered that we’ll put up with anything, so retailers have decided that they can save themselves a lot of money by hiring low quality staff and paying them low wages and not training them?

Obviously a big part of the blame can be put on the business owner. Most of them don’t work in their own establishments anymore, so don’t know what goes on there. They treat their staff poorly and don’t see them as valuable assets to their business.

Another part of the blame can be put on the customer service representatives themselves. They may have a shitty job, with a shitty boss and shitty pay, but I don’t see how it serves them to make their jobs even shittier by acting like shits all day long. Customers are not going to be pleasant to people who make no effort to be pleasant themselves. Seems like common sense, doesn’t it?

The day would go by so much more quickly if sales clerks and cashiers would be nice and interact with their customers in positive ways. I’ve worked in retail type places and it can be fun to meet new people, joke around with regulars, have little human-to-human conversations with customers. Everybody’s job has shitty elements to it. At some point, if we choose to continue doing that job, we have to decide to do what we can to make the best of it, don’t we?

Sure, there are always going to be a few nasty, demanding, unreasonable customers, but why would you conduct yourself on the premise that all customers are assholes? Most people are fairly benign – amiable even, if treated well.

And what about us customers? Surely, part of the blame for this decline in customer service rests on our shoulders. They say only one in ten customers who’ve received poor service will actually complain about it. Customers will, instead, just never go back to that establishment. What’s the matter with us?

As customers we have the power to decide where we spend our money. We like going to places where they seem to like having us, don’t we? There are fewer and fewer of those places. If we don’t speak up things are just going to keep declining.

Companies and businesses think they can just keep cutting back and cutting back and we suckers will just keep on spending their money in their establishments anyway.

I complain when service is really crappy – not all the time.  Most of the time no one seems to care anyway. Or they’ll say something retarded like “Well, no one else has ever complained about that before.”

Lots of times I’ll just pointedly walk out of a place – especially if it’s a big store and they only have 2 cashiers open and the lines are really long and slow. I’ll just leave my cart of stuff in line and leave. I know that probably doesn’t send much of a message.

Yesterday, I felt like saying something to that Loblaws cashier and just leaving the groceries, but I was too tired to start over at another store where the cashier would have been just as rude.

So, what to do? Do you just suck it up and keep going back for more? Have you resigned yourself to the idea that this is just the way it is and it’s just going to get worse? Is there anything really effective we, as customers, can do to turn this trend around?

41 responses to “Are You Being Served?

  1. “seriously depressed me”

    I’d attach the psychologist bill with the copy of the post.

    You cannot get depressed by such a thing! Aren’t you too sensitive?

  2. I’d heard somewhere a while ago that Canadians are more willing than Americans for example to put up with bad service. I do wonder if that is true sometimes.

    As for the bad service, lately I’ve been to a few places where the cashiers took more interest in talking to each other than in actually doing their job.

    How annoying it is!

  3. Hey, Xup.

    I wrote about something similar back in September: http://kendrosm.blogspot.com/2009/09/are-we-spoiled-or-are-our-standards-too.html .

    The question I asked was: Are we, as consumers/customers, too demanding? And, as a result, do our demands piss off the people that serve us because they could never live up to our expectations?

    I’ve been in customer service since I started working. In my 25 years of working – except for a year at university and doing work for the actual university – I have never been in a job where I wasn’t serving a customer. (And by customer I mean a person who is actually paying to use the services my company provides, not a coworker who I support and is my “customer”.)

    I’ve had good days and bad days. Customers have had good days and bad days. But I have never been rude, or nasty, or ignored a customer.

    I think it’s the generation coming in behind us. They’ve had everything given to them, so now that they’re working, their response is “Man, this sucks.”

  4. Oh I feel ya on this one girl. I despise bad service and I especially despise people who act shocked when I say something about the bad service they just gave me. Also a big peeve of mine is people who think I’m supposed to thank them or reward them somehow for treating me like shit. If I am spending money in your store, then I am your boss and all I ask is professional treatment. Don’t act like you’re doing me any favors by waiting on me.

  5. I was in a shop in Paris once when a pair of American tourists came in who seemed to believe that if you said the English words louder and slower, they would magically be understood. I saw the quick transformation of Mlle Jekyl into Mme Hyde. And when I ran bilingual interference, Mme H continued to serve the Americans while being overly nice to me.
    When I am out in stores I often notice the louring and preoccupied faces of the people shopping with me. If I were faced with these expressions at a cash register all day, I think I would turn into Ms Hyde myself.
    Cashiers don’t earn a lot of money; I sometimes wonder if they would be better content if they were paid better. And if I were a manager, I would probably consider instituting bonus pay for constant cheerfulness.

  6. Honestly, I tend to just not go back, or if I don’t really have a choice I just suck it up and I give back as good as I get.

    You’re bitchy with me? Girl (or boy), you have just encountered the überbitch, you’re nowhere near in my league. I can outbitch you any day of the week.

    On the other hand, if you act in any way decent, I,ll bounce it right back atcha. I’ll call you by name and remember you the next time and be nice again.

    On days when I’m in a particularly good mood, I’ll go out of my way to be nice to the bitchy ones just to freak them right the hell out.

  7. It is depressing to go into a store and spend money and not receive good customer service. In fact the same applies to any service, even riding a bus. Based on a blog I just read OC Transpo is firing drivers who have a good customer service attitude:

    http://support7990.wordpress.com/

    Noteworthy is the fact this driver appears to go above an beyond the call duty by serving customers when out of service. This practice is encouraged at OC Transpo, but few drivers actually do this.

  8. I had a similar rude experience during my last visit to Booster Juice. The girl who took my order never said a word to me and just walked away to make my juice. Then when she gave me my drinks, there was no smile or anything. I gave her the same nasty look back, because damnit, I just paid $6 for fancy fruit juice* is it so much to ask for some nice service?

    Anyways, I’ve worked a bunch of shitty retail jobs in the past and you do get tired of dumb customers and scumbag managers, but during those dark days of customer service, I would still try and be at least professional to customers.

    *I know these drinks are overpriced and only buy them once in a blue moon.*

  9. i think the customer needs to speak up more and be nicer. i am a bitch and tend to bitch right back if i get bad service. the hubby on the other hand is a super nice guy and is always super friendly. know what? he gets friendlier service than i do most of the time. so i think we all need to be more friendly to get more friendly. when things are exceptionally bad, i always talk to the manager. because, like i said, i’m a bitch.

  10. this makes me so angry. this happened to me last week when i took my youngest for ice cream. she was so excited to be ordering the “super kid” flavour at LAURA SECORD AT BILLINGS BRIDGE ON TUESDAY NIGHT and the surly kid at the counter didn’t smile, barely muttered what i owed her and pretty much made it seem like it was agony to serve us. it’s an interesting lesson to teach when your kids ask you why i insist that they say please, thank you and you are welcome and others don’t reciprocate. they are learning the words ignorant and unrefined at an early age.

    you should create a template (seriously!) with a general statement grievancing poor service. us bloggies can then print them off, address them to managers of stores and make aware of our bad experience. managers listen to complaints. they are getting their orders from head office. they need to do well and can’t afford to take complaints lightly.

  11. I do not shop a whole lot, but I do buy groceries and stop in quite often at convenience stores. People here are very friendly. Sometimes too friendly. For instance, the cashier lady may ask me how I plan to prepare certain foods I have purchased or quite often you’ll get “I haven’t tried those yet, are they good?” And of course we always have the weather to discuss with each other. I’m always chatty and try to make them laugh. I think of it as speed stand-up comedy.

  12. I’ve gotten rude service like this even when I was being super duper nice. So, I think it’s just sadly the way things are going. Sometimes I complain but I’ve even stopped doing that because you can tell that the managers don’t really care. Maybe that’s the problem: managers don’t know how to be courteous so they don’t train the kids that are staffing these retail places to have a courteous attitude toward customers.

    I do notice a distinct difference in customer service in the US and in Europe. And I agree with you Xup; in Europe it is a career or their business and here (I guess the US is like Canada on this topic) it is just a ‘boring’ after school thing for kids.

  13. I think I might have mentioned it before (have you posted on this in the past?) — my local Independent grocery store (ironically, part of the Loblaws chain) hires a lot of kids for cashiers, shelf stocking and other jobs, including one super-friendly boy with Downs who bags the groceries.

    Without exception, they are all friendly and helpful and seem to be having a good time. And if I end up listening to the occasional conversation between my cashier and the next about the plans for Saturday’s party, well as long as she’s scanning my items while she’s chatting, I’m OK with it. I always get the eye contact, the smiles and the ‘how are you today.’ Maybe things are different out here in the sticks.

  14. Skylark – I should. Maybe I’ll forward them a link to this post even!

    Guillermo – I was especially sensitive yesterday to stuff like this after a week in Paris where the customer service was so lovely.

    Justin – Isn’t that crazy – when they’re all in a little gaggle chatting and you walk over patiently waiting for someone to notice you and they give you a dirty look like you’re eavesdropping?

    Ken – I don’t think we can blame it completely on the generation behind us. Our generation learned what good customer service was somewhere. An employer has to make at least some small investment in training his employees on how to serve customers and he has to be around to lead by example and he has to treat his staff with the same respect with which he expects to have them treat customers. And for those who do not want to learn this or are unable to, he should suggest they seek employment somewhere where they don’t have to deal with the public. The cashier at Loblaws yesterday, by the way was well into her late 30s or even early 40s. I’ve had rude service from young people and older people alike.

    Dr. Monkey – Good for you. I really think it’s got to be up to the customers to say “enough” and demand to be treated with a little appreciation. It’s not enough to just silently boycott places that are horrible to you.

    Mary – You’re right – working with the public every day is a difficult job and one for which not everyone is suited. I think maybe people shop all zoned out like that because they have come to expect no attention or friendliness. I’d done my homework on Paris and knew that I would be expected to say bonjour or bon soir to everyone upon entering their premises or before asking anyone a question. Even people getting on an elevator –strangers — said bonjour to each other. If all retail workers were trained even to say good morning or good afternoon to a customer as he or she walked through the door – even that would make such a difference. I don’t care how much or how little you are paid in a job – if your job is to serve customers, why not do it in a pleasant way?

    Jazz – There is a particular cashier at my local Metro store who is very chatty and pleasant all the time – an older woman. She may be a little crazy and probably takes too much time with each customer, but I’ll always choose her cash when I go there, even if her line is longer than the others. You should get a tiny bit more for your money that a few bags of substandard groceries.

    OC Driver – Is this you? It would be interesting to hear the rest of this story. What’s OC Transpo’s beef with this 7990 guy? How did this “blogger” find out the reasons for his firing? I don’t imagine that’s public knowledge. I don’t get how setting up a blog is going to keep this driver his job. Why would OC fire him for doing stuff they ostensibly encourage???

    Pauline – People who handle my food really really need to be nice about it, in my opinion. I don’t know why but it makes me especially mad to get substandard service in the food industry. And again, yes I know retail can be really shitty, but wouldn’t the job just be more fun if you did it with a sunny attitude than a surly one?

    Smothermother – You’re absolutely right. I think your husband also gets better service because he’s a man. Well known fact that restaurant servers and shop clerks will be nicer to men than they are to women. I think because they’ve come to a)expect bigger tips from men and b) because men are less demanding as a rule, c) because sad as it is, men still represent more of an authority figure than women. And, if they’re good looking men they will always get friendlier service from females and even other men.

    Meanie – I think a grievance has a lot more power if you can be specific about it. Are you going to complain about that nasty ice cream person? A friend of my daughter’s works at that store and she keeps telling XUP Jr that they need employees. I keep telling XUP Jr. that she does NOT want to work in the food industry and especially not in a mall shop dishing out ice cream. She has a perfectly good job now and always thinks retail is going to be so much fun.

    Geewits – Interesting. I wonder if it’s true what Justin said above – that Canadians are more complacent about getting bad service and that maybe we’ve brought all this on ourselves? We’re so stupid. I have noticed whenever I’ve visited the southern US that people are very friendly. I’ve always wondered if that was just for tourists.

    Kimberly – YES! The managers couldn’t give a crap either I’ve noticed. But you say you’ve received better service in the US? Could this be largely a Canadian phenomena? How the hell do we get this reputation of being so damn friendly then?

    Alison – They must be very different in the sticks. And I can see how a small town shop would probably pay more attention to good customer service. I wonder if it’s too far for me to come for groceries every week?

  15. I’m working in customer service at the moment. I like my job and my customers. I also have other income so this job is more for supplementary income and fun.

    But, there is no useful training provided, the wages are horrible and there is no incentive to try to do a good job.
    Very few of my co-workers do try.

    A crappy apartment here is about $800/month. After tax income for these people is about $1000/mo.

    There is incentive to leave for a better job but absolutely no incentive to do a good job while you are there. Other than a good reference I suppose. Which likely wouldn’t happen anyways because managers get angry when someone quits..

    As a customer I’ve become nicer. I usually just try to be friendly and it seems to work for me..

  16. XUP wrote:
    OC Driver – Is this you? It would be interesting to hear the rest of this story. What’s OC Transpo’s beef with this 7990 guy? How did this “blogger” find out the reasons for his firing? I don’t imagine that’s public knowledge. I don’t get how setting up a blog is going to keep this driver his job. Why would OC fire him for doing stuff they ostensibly encourage???
    =====================
    The general public is aware of the termination details as 7990 has been asking the public for assistance. 7990 was the target of workplace harassment and it appears OC Transpo decided it was easier to fire the person being harassed than solve the problem. 7990 is circulating a petition, asking for signatures requesting he be returned to work.

  17. I think I must live near Alison since we have similar positive shopping experiences. I blame the owners/employers. It is a combination of hiring friendly people, paying them well, training and expecting nothing less than great service. I used to work as a server for a fancy schmancy famous Canadian hotel chain (in a town that lived off tourism). We were told during training not to talk to people dining and we were reprimanded for smiling and having a conversation with hotel guests. (?) I never understood that…

  18. I didn’t mean to imply that service in the US was good or better than Canada. From the sound of it, bad customer service is a North American issue. Before we moved to London I was living in Austin, TX, which could be considered the South, I guess. Service there was not great in a lot of places. I always get the feeling like people think they are too good to be waiting on me(or anyone) and as a result they feel like being surly is the proper attitude to display.

    My 85 year old aunt works at Walmart and is always cheerful and talks to people, if she can manage to be nice why can’t people less than half her age do it too?

  19. one commentor said “there is no incentive to try to do a good job” uggghh, i hate that attitude. incentive can be non-monetary, life is what you make it. i realize i sound like a polyanna here, but i do believe that life is a mirror. grumble and be miserable for 8 hrs or make the best of those 8 hrs, chances are the 8 hours you make the best of go faster. (i have worked retail and the food/service industry, i know how difficult it can be).

  20. I love it when you are going through a line or being waiting on at a quick stop and the person is on the phone and doesn’t so much as acknowledge your existence. The world is becoming such a friendly place…I think Cell phones should be banned from work, leave it in your car.

  21. Glen – There’s no incentive for me to do a good job in my job either, but I do it anyway because I have a little pride in myself and because doing something well is a reward in itself. That doesn’t matter whether I’m making half the salary I make now or twice the salary I make now. But I’ll tell ya what…if I went around all day being rude and grumpy to everyone I work for and with, my workplace would be an even more miserable place than it is now. My job isn’t exciting or dynamic or even interesting, but most of the people there do their best and are friendly toward each other even if they don’t really mean it – because anything else would be intolerable.

    OC Driver – Where do I find all this public information and petition stuff?

    MM – Yes, definitely the owners/managers need to step up and tell staff exactly what’s expected of them. But then maybe they have so much trouble finding staff, they’ll take anyone and let them do whatever they want?? I don’t necessarily want to have a conversation with my wait staff or hotel staff. I’d like them to be courteous and attentive when I’m trying to do business with them. They have lots to do so I don’t expect them to have a pleasant chat with me or anything. I don’t see anything wrong with smiling though. That was a weird place you worked in.

    Kimberly – Ya, what is that attitude where they look down on the customer? Makes me feel like I’m a real schmuck for shopping in their store.

    Meanie – You’re totally right – as I responded to Glen. Every job has its good points and bad points. Every job has difficulties. You can focus on them and make your work life miserable or you can try to make the best of what you’ve got and get on with it and hopefully inject a bit of joy into your work day. I hope it wasn’t XUP Jr.’s friend who served you. I’ll have to ask her if the girl is even still working there.

    Cedar – I’m pretty sure talking on your cell phone during work is frowned upon technically by most employers. Unfortunately there’s rarely anyone managerial around to keep people on track and to remind them what they’re actually supposed to be doing.

  22. XUP wrote:
    OC Driver – Where do I find all this public information and petition stuff?
    ——————————————-
    If you want to meet the driver I think it would be easy. I know there are drivers who are in contact with 7990. 7990 isn’t working so I expect he would be available to meet you almost any time. I heard about a petition, the online blog is the only thing I have seen so far.

  23. So true! On the same note, we’re killing off customer service jobs one at at time.

    For example, I was out with my mom the other day getting groceries. We loaded them into the van and I went to put the cart away. She said ‘No, leave it. The parking lot is quiet and it’s not going anywhere. First we started going to self-serve gas stations and now there are no full-serve ones anymore. Then we started using bank machines and hardly anyone works at the bank. Next, we started scanning our own food and bagging it, so there will be no more cashiers. Where has customer service gone? We’re spending more and more and getting less and less service. So leave the cart there and create some employment.’

    I had a hard time arguing with her, to be honest.

  24. I’ve had really bad and crabby service in France so I think it’s universal. Sometimes a really old person is getting checked out at the grocery store and the cashier can’t get a price for an item. Does he or she go and get the price or send an employee? No-they send the tottering old lady to go get the price while they sit there. They get to sit too in grocery stores. I never did in my day.

  25. Xup! I have figured it out. I read all the comments and I have figured it out. First off, Canadians are not known for being friendly. They are known for being polite. And in old school politeness, one does not engage a stranger in chit chat or anything else. You guys do not engage each other, in other words, there is no connection. And there is probably some leftover British class stuff going on. In Texas we have no clue about old school politeness and will just say anything to each other. So we are not polite but we engage each other in conversation and we all act like old friends that way.

  26. That’s what I like when I travel to the States. The waitresses, the hotel clerks, the cab drivers…it’s all “Yes sir…have a good day, sir, Thank you sir”. They refill your coffee. They help you out. You feel like a King.

    It’s like day and night, compared to over here, where people act like they’re doing you a FAVOR for just doing their job.

    But if you think it’s bad in the Big City, just try a small town, where nobody gives a shit, because there’s nothing else around and they know they’re a monopoly.

    But that’s whole other story…

  27. OC Driver – Actually, I found an online forum about this topic and it seems there is a lot more to it. There seem to be a lot of drivers who think this guy is a creep and deserved to get his ass fired. Then there are others who are keeping an open mind until all the facts have been cleared up from the rumours. So, no I don’t want to meet him and I don’t really want to get involved in this thing.

    Maven- Probably the next customer will clear up that cart. But ya, your mom has a very good point. The self-service gas stations used to be a bit cheaper than the full service too – remember? Now they’re all the same. I do use the self-scanners at the grocery store because it’s usually faster and I don’t have to put up with a surly cashier. I don’t really get the point of a society that deliberately creates unemployment either.

    Linda – Ya, I noticed that too – that all the cashiers get to sit down. Well, why not? It’s better than those places where the cashier is raised up 3 feet above everyone else. And just because I got good service in France, I know doesn’t mean there are no crabby customer service people. And I also know that tourists are usually treated better than locals for some reason. So, probably when people visit Canada they find us all pleasant and friendly, too.

    Geewits – Ah yes – polite.We’re not considered friendly?? What was your experience when you were up to visit here? Were service people nice to you or “polite”?

    Friar – See now Alison says people are friendlier in a small town. I’ve found the same thing when I go to the US, too. But again, maybe everyone just treats tourists better and then takes out all their frustrations on locals.

  28. Just polite at first, but once I became a “regular” at the bar everyone was friendly. In other stores they were polite and I was my usual chatty self, then they were more friendly.

  29. Southern friendliness is really “not just for tourists”. I work full-time in a retail store and have the best time just greeting people as they walk in. By the ned of the day, I’m so excited about saying “Hi” to people, that I jump around for hours smiling. People have verbalized that I am crazy, “In a good way”.

  30. I think I’ve written about this too and if memory serves it was right after I came back from Paris. Customer service is very different in Europe, I think you already understand the reason for that, it’s not just a JOB for them, it’s a career or a business. When I moved to Georgia in 2003 the customer service here was outstanding! People were so nice and friendly. Now they sound a lot more like what you described. I’m lucky if the cashier even speaks to me, some of them don’t even bother to point at the little screen with the total, like I’m a psychic and I’ll just somehow intuitively KNOW how much I owe. I complain, oh yes I do! Do they care? Rarely. BUT, when I get exceptionally good service I go see the manager just as quickly.

  31. yeah, i have pondered this too. i’m all for leaving a place if the service is horrible. for me, sadly i’ve resigned myself to this being the way that it is and appreciating good service elsewhere.

    i will boycott an establishment if there are multiple issues, that’s one thing i can do 🙂

  32. Lauren – Well that’s good to know. It would be a pleasure to shop in your store.

    Charlene – That’s important too – to praise good work. Although really it’s their job to be pleasant and customer-service oriented. It’s kind of sad that when they’re actually good it’s an exception that needs to be noted.

    Leah – Me too. I don’t think they notice though.

  33. Hey, Xup. Big Brother is watching 😉

    Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (159.33.10.92) [Label IP Address]

    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, 0 returning visits

    Date Time Type WebPage
    24th March 2010 04:10:44 PM Page View exurbanpedestrian.wordpress.com/2010/03/23/are-you-being-served/
    kendrosm.blogspot.com/2009/09/are-we-spoiled-or-are-our-standards-too.html

    Got that from my blog stats recently… CBC found you, then went to me. Should we be worried? 😉

  34. Ken – I’ve been aware for some time that blogs are monitored by a whole bunch of people that you’d never think have the time or need to monitor little local blogs. Media, government, industry. I’ve had follow up emails from the strangest places on some of my posts. This is why I can’t emphasize enough for people to be careful what they post. There are a lot more people looking at your stuff than you might think

  35. I used to get really bent out of shape by bad service, but somehow I’ve been managing to let it go these days.

    Maybe I’ve become resigned to it. I’m living in a very very small community (700 people) and the service is the worst I’ve ever experienced. I mean the passive, no-eye-contact-and-you-can-damn-well-read-the-total-on-the-display-so-just-hand-over-the-cash-and-get-out kind of bad service. Also, any and all questions are met with a shrug or an insulted, put-out sounding “I don’t know.”

    Back home in Ottawa, where service is more mixed, I sometimes have luck with cheering them up — “Long shift?” “I bet that’s hard on the back, can I help?”

    My mum will often confront the issue dead on: “Have I done something to upset you? No? Then I’d appreciate some courtesy. Thank you very much.” All with a cold, crazy-lady smile. She’s priceless.

  36. Yes, Big Brother is watching.

    Sadly, he seems to be watching the innocent citizens more than anyone else, passing all kinds of “laws” for things that really shouldn’t be illegal.

    (Insert Ayn Rand quote here: “There’s no way to rule innocent men. The only power any government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws. Who wants a nation of law-abiding citizens? What’s there in that for anyone? But just pass the kind of laws that can neither be observed nor enforced nor objectively interpreted and you create a nation of law-breakers.”)

    And yet, the suicide bombers continue to hit their targets.

    With more money spent on security and more paranoia, this tells me that the terrorists are winning, if they have not already won.

    Of course, companies are watching as well, and many will tell you not to post anything online, as it could affect your current or future career.

    My personal view on that – if a company holds my personal views and affairs against me, then in my opinion, they are a bunch of narrow-minded, old-fashioned, stuck up iceholes and I wouldn’t have wanted to work there anyway, because we would not have been compatible, so they can go frak themselves.

    You can quote me on that too.

  37. Rachelle – That’s really sad. Small communities are supposed to all friendly and helpful. I think your mum has the right idea.

    Brett – Sheesh! That was quite a rant on a post about customer service. I think I may do a post about this. Thanks!!