Keepers, Weepers & Creepers

Yet another one of the perks of being a pedestrian is finding stuff. I’ve found money and purses, wallets, MP3 players, backpacks, jewelry, pets. Once, when I lived in Toronto I found then-Mayor (later Cabinet Minister and current Senator) Art Eggleton’s  passport, ID and completed passport application/fee all in a nice envelope.

I’ve also mentioned before how I have a knack for finding engagement rings. Here’s my collection so far.rings

I don’t often lose things, but once I lost my ID between flights. You know how you have your hands full with your carry-on and your bag of food/reading material/iPod/etc. and your purse and your boarding pass and your photo ID? Well, I very cleverly wore pants with really big pockets, so I could stash stuff in them ready to be whipped out at a moment’s notice. Leg one of the journey it worked like a charm and I moved through the boarding ritual like that (I’m snapping my fingers – see photo above for visual aid). Leg two of the journey, my ID (driver’s license) was nowhere to be found. They felt sorry for me and let me board anyway – probably because I’d just gotten off another plane seconds before and it was just a domestic flight.

Anyway I ordered a new license. The day it arrived (like 6 weeks later) I got a call from the airline saying they’d found my license. Now I’m less clever and do like the old folks and wait until I get right to the front of the line and only then take out my bag and start rummaging through it for my boarding pass and ID. Then I put everything back very carefully before moving on. Those old folks know everything.

So, in last week’s MetroNews  the “In Transit” column talked about OC Transpo’s Lost & Found. This is absolutely the coolest thing (actually, the only cool thing) about OC Transpo. Because, the lost and found is run by volunteers from a 15-member charitable community called Heartwood House.

Heartwood House processes the approximately 200 items lost every day on buses and O-trains. The items never claimed (65%) are sold off twice a year at bargain prices. The next sale is October 31st, 12:00 – 2:00 at Heartwood House. A silent auction is held for the more valuable items. You should go!

That’s the feel-good part of the story.

The not so feel-good part of this column tells the sad tale of a tourist from Vancouver who lost his camera on the bus on his way in from the airport. He was devastated because the camera contained months’ worth of photos of his travels and grandkids. So he put an ad online hoping someone had found it. Someone had! Finder Dude gets in touch with Vancouver Tourist and tells him he’ll be happy to send him back the memory card that contains his valuable photos, but he’s keeping the camera.

Who does that?

19 responses to “Keepers, Weepers & Creepers

  1. Oh, do be careful Xup so that you are not blacklisted by your fellow Canadians. You just published a negative story. Nearly every Canadian blogger I have ever read does an annual post on the great Canadians and their contributions to world society. (Why is that?) I hope you don’t get in trouble for exposing the one and only rogue butthole that resides in Canada. But don’t worry, I’ll stick with you.

  2. Geewits. You obviously don’t know Canadians.
    The “dude” who found the camera must, I say must , have been a foreigner who was also traveling by plane.
    Any Canadian I know would have driven or flown cross country just to be sure the guy got his things back.

  3. What a nice collection of found bling! I have a few baby shoes I have found here and there with NO babies around to claim them. A couple of my friends think it is creepy, but one day I may meet a babe who needs 1 shoe!

  4. How terrible that someone would do that??? Yes, the memory card would be more valuable to me than the camera itself (even though I love my Nikon) but man oh man karma is a bitch!!!!

    Great idea that the lost items are sold/auctioned off…bet there are some neat things.

  5. CP – I know, eh? That is awfully ballsy.

    Geewits – Oh we have plenty of buttholes. I don’t think anyone can deny that. And if they do, they’re on drugs.

    Bandobras – Ya, because that’s what we all do. It’s the land of Pollyanna. Yup.

    Grace – Yes! I didn’t even know this community existed. What a cool thing.

    Missy – I hope your baby will need two shoes.

    Besty Mae – How can fly so blatantly in the face of karma? Scary.

    Meanie – I thought so, too. They’ve been found over the course of many, many years though and I’m inordinately attracted to shiny objects, so maybe it’s not so strange?

  6. I’ve been to the TTC auctions and even met up with some people who were there to hopefully “buy back” their stuff they lost on the bus or subway! You’d think they’d have gone to the lost and found before everything went to auction.

  7. I never really thought about what happens to unclaimed lost & found items (especially on OC Transpo – I’d imagine it’s easy to forget stuff there when you’re rushing to get off the bus).

    I had a camera stolen once (1/2 way through a trip of Europe) and I was devastated. I can’t believe the nerve of someone who would offer to sell back a memory card, but state that they’re keeping a camera. How could you possibly live with yourself after doing that?

  8. The diamond rings! That was one of the first things I learned about you. Now I finally see your hand all blinged out with ’em. You know, that’s the only reason I keep up this blog relationship with you…so I can one day get one of those rings. I’ll go for the one on your ring finger.

    I’m fascinated by the items people have lost. We have a couple of unclaimed baggage stores here in Alabama where they buy just that – unclaimed baggage from airlines – and sell it to the public. It’s amazing the stuff you find there. And, depressing at the same time. But, if you ever need a camera, there go you.

  9. Are you kidding me about finder-dude? How freakin crazy people are about STUFF! Jeez. If you can’t find the owners, you should break up the engagement rings, melt them down and have your own piece of jewelry made. You can sell off the stones you don’t want.

  10. Colette – Hi – welcome to the blog and thanks for the comment. I agree, how do you even have the nerve to contact the guy and tell him that?

    OTC – You sure know how to pick your bling. I think the one on my ring finger is the most valuable one — going by my almost non-existent experience with jewelry.

    LoLa – That sounds like a lot of work. I’m thinking over the next several years I might run into young couples who want to get married but don’t have much money and I’ll give them the rings. It could happen right? Yin and Yang. Balancing the universe?

  11. Yes! That ‘s a *fabulous* idea. (Please don’t kick me off your site.) It is a great idea, though. I bet it happens that way. and WHAT A POWERFUL post that will be!

  12. Finder dude is the scum of the earth. SCUM OF THE EARTH.

    Back in the days before MP3 players, I carried a CD case with all of our favorite music on a trip. Sadly, I managed to lose it. My husband’s cries of anguish could be heard for miles. When I contacted the airline’s lost and found department, they told me they’d been enjoying my CD’s and hoped the owner wouldn’t think to call there. Thanks, guys.

    Love your post title! I’ll be back to check out other posts. 🙂

  13. FF- Thanks and thanks for visiting the blog and sharing your story. I guess the airline had no way of knowing the CDs belonged to you? Were they left on your seat maybe? And yes, I can’t believe someone would have the cojones to actually contact the tourist and offer to return only part of his camera.

  14. you could make up stories about those rings !!! that would be cool. i do that when i find stuff, i immediately start making up a story in my head. or when i’m people watching, i guess i just like to make up stories in my head.

    finder of camera guy needs a good talking to.