Blog Blogging Bloggers

How much do you censor yourself on your blog? I’m sure most of us try to be at least a bit sensitive/pc so we don’t offend, but how much do you censor because of the specific people you know are reading your blog?

As many of you know, we had another meeting of local bloggers over breakfast last weekend. I believe there were close to 30 Ottawa bloggers there, plus a few guests. A good third of those are bloggers I’d never met and then there were quite a few who I had met before who couldn’t make it this time. Plus I had met a few bloggers before the Blogger Breakfasts ever started.

All that to say that over the three Ottawa Bloggers Breakfasts we’ve had, I’ve met quite a few of the people who read my blog and whose blogs I read in return. 

So, I’ve been wondering whether or not this has affected my blog in any way. I reckon it must. I make a point not to talk to my family about my blog and only a handful of people at work know about it. Because, if everyone I interact with on a regular basis read my blog on a regular basis, I think that would limit a lot of the stuff I say and/or limit how I say it.

As I’m writing, whether it’s for the blog or otherwise, in the back of my mind are all the people who I know might be reading what I’m writing. So, I’m self-censoring as I go along. This is not good according to all the creative writing experts. You’re supposed to forget about all those people and just write what’s true to whatever piece you’re writing.

Now I’ve been face-to-face with a whole bunch of other people to add to that self-censorship committee.  Yes, I knew these people first as bloggers and they’ve read my stuff before, so why would it change now that I’ve met them?

Well, they’ve changed, to me. I have had a concept of them in my head from reading their blogs, but often they are really quite different in real life – surprisingly so sometimes. So now I may comment differently on their blogs and probably do some different things with my blog than I would have had I never met any of them.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing. In fact, I think it’s probably a good thing. Now I’m no longer writing for some abstract online personae, but for real people. I know a little more about what interests them about blogs, what irks them, what they find funny or peculiar. Bloggers face-to-face talk even more and even more openly face-to-face than they do on their blogs.

Probably, meeting bloggers opens up more blogging possiblities than it limits.

I don’t see how having more and more information about the people who are reading your blog could help but affect the content and nature of your blog. I made a comment once on someone’s blog that in many ways it’s the readers who drive the blog more than the blog author. And the longer I do this, the more I think that’s true.

48 responses to “Blog Blogging Bloggers

  1. I censor myself quite severely. I try never to badmouth anyone, which believe me, is bloody hard. I made a decision very early on to never try to hide my identity, I think that bloggers who do put themselves at risk-anonymous blogging is a dream…where you can say whatever yu like and then not take responsibility for it? How liberating! But how dangerous!

    I’ve lost count of the amount of blogs that have been shut down because someone’s work read it and clicked, or someone’s family members read it and clicked. A lot of damage can be done. I once wrote a late night cheeky post about a crappy birthday present I got from an inlaw. I woke up at 5am to delete it. I still quake at the thought that she read it.

    As it is, even with the self censorship, I’ve apparently recently offended someone who decided to take umbridge about a wedding I wrote about, at which she was a guest. Now I seem to remember that she had a few choice things to say out loud on the day, and she wasn’t even mentioned in my post. My care to not offend those I love made me feel confident in defending myself. In fact several of my family members waded in and got her to admit (not quite at gunpoint) that she was a silly cow and actually the post was funny. Apparently the woman is a big fan now. Sheeesh.

    I feel you have to take responsibility- I don’t write anything about anyone I would say to them directly.

  2. A number of things have changed technologically since I started my blog. In things like Google Reader, things stay in people’s feed readers even if you delete them.

    Has meeting bloggers changed my blog? Meeting people changes my outlook on the world, and gives me blogging fodder. So in that sense, yes it I suppose it does change things. You’d get posts you’d never get otherwise. But I dont’ write thinking, OMG, XUP and Raino, and Maven, and Jobthingy are reading this. (Unless it’s a birthday post or pimping some cool project or idea.) I view my blog as the equivalent of newspaper column without deadlines or an editor.

    What I do find tricky are the people who I really like as people but whose blogs bore me to tears. What do you say when you see them again?

  3. I try not to post negative things about specific coworkers(Which can be VERY hard not to do) and/or friends/family. Its just not worth the risk to me. That idiot who cut me off in traffic on the other hand…LOL.
    Personally, I feel that if you have a beef with someone you know, then it shows maturity to tell them directly and if that doesn’t work, well then complain to someone you trust, but just don’t insult them in writing for them to discover. It makes you look bad.

  4. MisssyM – It’s inevitable that as your blog becomes more popular so do your chances of offending someone. People will take offense at even the most innocuous stuff sometimes, so you certainly can’t avoid it completely. And I wasn’t even talking so much about saying things on your blog that would anger people, but also gearing your blog in a certain direction or covering certain topics or even adopting a certain style because you know it best suits the core of your readership?

    Nat – Again, I wasn’t just talking about trying not to be offensive, but also about “catering” to your readers. Like if I knew a lot of my blog readers were cat lovers, I’d do a fuzzy wuzzy post about my cat every once in a while whereas I wouldn’t if I knew a lot of my readers would consider that retarded. And, is there something in particular you’re trying to tell me about my blog, Nat? Because it’s okay. I expect to bore some people to tears. Everyone can’t be everyone’s cup of tea. And that’s a good point, because once you’ve met the bloggers you can’t very well delete them from your blogroll and you feel sort of obligated to visit their blog every once in a while just to say howdy, don’t you? Even if their blog bores you to tears.

    Hannah – Very true, but like I said to the other two, I think there’s more to it than just not saying negative things about people. It’s also about expressing an opinion that you feel will not go over well with the majority of your readers.

  5. Hi XUP, is always a pleasure reading you.

    My 2 cents… Relationships affect us. In every sense of life: work, social, hobbies, whatever. Blogging is not the exception, I think. As our readership grows, the comments grow and they affect us. They affect us in our point of views of some things, the teach us about who read us, how they think and what they want to read. You may have noticed that some type of posts have better feedback than others, just because our readers like certain subjects more than others.

    As we grow as bloggers and writers, we try to please us and our readers because one do not exist without the other. Therefore, it’s understandable that we may feel affected by all this at the moment of writing.

    Have a great day!

  6. I find that as I meet the bloggers who I read, I do change my commenting style on their blog. Now that I can picture the actual person, I can comment as if I am having a real conversation with them — so I might be more serious or more silly or more anxious about proofreading depending on my impression of the author.

    I find it hasn’t changed my own blogging, though. Maybe it’s because my blog posts are more personal in nature — I write about my kids mostly, for myself, so I can remember all the good and bad experiences. I love it when people comment, and when I know that someone out there is going to read it and share it too, but even when I only had Sir Monkeypants reading my blog, I was still motivated to post.

  7. I talked with Zoom about this at the OBB on Saturday, and came to the conclusion that I’d still blog in a vacuum. Even if no-one read the words I write, I’d still write them… for myself.

    I know I’m not a rock-star in the blogging world; that the three people who read me faithfully have a vested interest in me to begin with (close friends and of course my mum). If I manage to entertain someone else along the way, that’s great, but it’s a side-effect, not the main point.

    Perhaps that’s exactly *why* I’ll never be a rock-star blogger. I’m okay with that.

  8. I probably blog about a tenth of what’s actually going on in my life… And other than the swearing, I try not to be too abrasive. The other ninety percent of un-bloggable material is far more juicy, but really? My blog is not worth burning bridges. If I have a beef that I discuss on the blog, I make sure I explain why I feel the need to mention it in the first place. It’s a public arena and I’m aware that people take offense to just about anything.

    I see it as this: if I’m spending most of my time fending off attacks on my blog, I’m losing out on time I could be spending making cookies. And I’m more in love with cookies than I am with controversy.

  9. I self-censor all the time, but that’s because of what I consider the my blog’s “topic”, which is stuff-going-on-in-and-interesting-things-about Portland. I try to avoid tangents and politics.

    But sometimes I do want to express things a bit more strongly than my blog permits; I might start another separate blog just for that purpose.

    At the same time non-self censored blogs often (always?) turn into self-indulgent diary/journals that are only interesting to the author and maybe a couple people in their immediate soap opera circle. Which is cool, I suppose, if that’s the desired audience.

  10. Heh, it was interesting to get two completely different sets of “oh, I thought you were more [demographic]!” comments at the breakfast. It was fun meeting you, XUP. You’re really awesome online and offline.

    As for the topic, this is why it helps to be antisocial; one tends not to be drawn to writing about people. Also, like Susan above, I write first for myself.

    I used to semi-censor curse words by using black text on a black background, so that people could un-censor it by selecting the text if they wanted to, but I don’t really give a fuck about protecting people from words anymore.

    As for whether knowing someone changes how I blog about them, it’s difficult to say, but I don’t think so. I’ve always been cognizant of the fact that anybody could read my blog in the future, and that it could come back to haunt me. I try to genericize things (like “a colleague”) when the person isn’t a public figure, but then I personally know a handful of the public figures I blog about, too.

    I don’t think it’s stopped me from saying what I think, for the most part. In fact, I’ve actually taken down one post because someone close to me thought that “a number of posts” about another identifiable person were too harsh. (See what I mean about the genericizing?)

    – RG>

  11. Surprisingly I actual do censor myself. You wouldn’t believe what I really think of where I live! 😉

    I also don’t go into anything sexual. My Dad reads it!!!!

  12. TTP – Thanks mister. You’re right of course. Everyone we know even a little bit will affect us in some way

    Lynn – That’s interesting that knowing more about your fellow bloggers will affect how you comment, but not how you blog? You have a point in that if you blog about one specific topic that that wouldn’t change too much.

    Susan – “rock star blogger” ha-ha. I’ve never heard that term. I blogged for over a year with only one or two readers, so ya, I kept doing it even though almost no one was reading. It’s fun though when it gets to be really interactive.

    Hella Stella – Mmmmmm cookies….good point.
    Dave – Yes, like Lynn said, a lot is dependant on what sort of blog you have to begin with. If you’ve got a fairly specific framework within which to work then your readership won’t affect it too much. And you’re very right about the completely uncensored blogs. They’re very, very difficult to read.

    Grouchy – Thanks dude. I totally thought you’d be more [demographic]. It’s a good point about thinking about how your words might be conceived down the road by someone totally unexpected. Too many people don’t consider that when posting words or photos anywhere on the internet.

    Helen – That’s nice that your Dad is a fan. You should get him to do a guest post some time!

  13. I curse a lot less on my Blog than I do in person and I try not to write about work or anything that may cause friction in my life off my Blog. Now on my OTHER Blog, I just let it rip.

  14. My blog is fairly transparent, so “what you see is what you get”. However, having said that, I have met a couple of my “blogging buddies” — one of whom loves me and the other hated me. But I was the same person to both people. So I think sometimes bloggers can have expectations of fellow bloggers that perhaps don’t exist.

    Also, I have tried to keep my blog away from my friends and co-workers, because we all have many dimensions, and my blog is my way of being able to express myself honestly. I think I censor myself in “real” life more than I do on my blog. So people who know me in “real” life might be quite surprised at some of my likes, dislikes, ideas, opinions, etc., etc.

    Also, a family member who — sadly — does not like me, found my blog and used it as a forum for personal attacks, so I had to remove the option of posting “anonymously”.

    I have made a practice not to do posts about family or friends, but rather to keep my blog very topic oriented rather than personality oriented. I don’t think people are interested in reading about my family or friends.

    I always find your blog interesting because you don’t post about personal things in your life either, but about topics that are very interesting.

    I don’t think I would want to meet many bloggers. I prefer the distance, and meeting them in person definitely changes the dimension.

    Keep on blogging…! 🙂

  15. I recently learned that my husband’s exwife reads my blog so that keeps me from putting anything negative about him on my blog-not that there is that much to put. But I always make it seem as if we are wildly happy. I’m not sure why. I am happy. I just leave out the negative things mostly.

  16. I self-censor.

    I’ve always stayed away from work and family (extended family— the wife and kids are fair game). My blog is wacky and disjointed but at least it’s mostly just about me. Safer that way.

    Recently I’ve had some great/hilarious/X-rated blogfodder regarding my wife and I. Great stuff but I’ve restrained myself from blogging about it.

    Why? Maybe because it’s over the top. Maybe it’s too intimate. Or maybe it’s because coworkers or extended family might find it. Who knows. All I know is, it’s not written down.

    I’ve found the more I self-censor, the less fun it is to write.
    I’ve been considering starting a new blog under a pseudonym just so I can be RAW again.

  17. I censor myself somewhat and do the PC thing — as much as I abhor political correctness — since being caught bad-mouthing someone who eventually read the blog. It was actually a comment on someone else’s blog that got me caught, kind of like telling an inappropriate joke, not realizing that someone who would be offended by it is within earshot.

    Despite that, however, my blog is quite personal, and is me right out there. However, like you, XUP, very few of my friends and family members even know I have a blog.

  18. Cedar – If you have another, no holds barred blog and didn’t tell me about it, I will be very distressed.

    Jo – Yes, I’ve noticed you’ve had some unusual problems with your blog — having to move it and change names several times. I agree about not wanting to post too much about family and friends. I do mention them once in a while as part of a bigger topic, but mostly I reckon there is plenty of other stuff to discuss than my fairly mundane life.

    Linda – That’s hilarious. I wonder what the ex-wife’s motives are in wanting to read your blog? I always find that when there is someone like this in your life the best thing to do is to become their best friend. It disconcerts everyone and puts you in the driver’s seat. It makes you seem all mature and together and fearless.

    Reeky – Not everyone wants to read about the sexual exploits of some married couple. That why the Penthouse “What Me & The Wife Done Last Night” letters section never really took off. But hey, if you branch out let me know. I’m willing to give it a look see. (will there be photos and/or video?)

    Bob – Ya, the people closest to us shouldn’t be exposed to our drivel every day. That’s what strangers are for.

  19. This is interesting. It is something that sits in the back of my mind most of the time. Very few friends and family know about my blog[s] and they don’t show any interest. But, I often think what if, maybe one day, they will show interest and I don’t want them to think less of me (i.e. think I’m even more boring in print than real life, haha). I rather like all my ‘anonymous’ blog friends as a separate part of my life.

    I find the comments add so much to a blog and I do think of certain people when I am writing and sometimes choose what I write because I think it will be interesting or comment-worthy to them. Otherwise I could just write in a journal or keep it private.

    I also find it really intriguing that you have such a great blogging community thing happening in Ottawa, with breakfasts and get-togethers.

  20. Well, that’s why I talk about my town as “Splat Creek” and I work at the Widget Factory. And I don’t use specific names, or places or dates. So nothing can come back and haunt me.

    If I write about “How to demoralize your work place”, I’ll list generic examples. Maybe these apply to my work place. Maybe they don’t. There’s nothing that can come back and haunt me.

    I’ve met some bloggers by phone. And some in person. And I felt an instant kinship with them (because I’ve corresponded enough with them to know who they are). Those of the fun ones you want to sit down and have a beer with.

    But on the other hand, there are some bloggers, veritable stick-in-the-muds, that I have NO INTENTION of ever meeting. And I’m glad my only contact is through the electronic screen.

  21. Yes, I found the same. The longer I blog, the more I cater to audience, which is why losing a reader/commenter messes me up.

    People go silent or speak against anything stressful. They want Humanyms to be a happy fuzzy zone. Some readers I know are dealing with health and other issues and want a reliably safe space. Oversharing isn’t terribly rewarded.

    I have spinoff blogs streamed because someone said, bah, why clutter food photos with that word-stuff. Bah, why do you keep mentioning that boring poetry stuff. Cats, ach, hostility button pushed. Memes? Got dinged about that. They have their own blog forum.

    I can’t have those conversations with those people with whom I’ve cultivated a communication. So each subject got a niche and niche clientele of readers. I didn’t have to do that.

    So far are real life people meeting my blogs, I just deluge the internet so much that no one can keep up with all I write. 😉

  22. I must be pretty dense then because I don’t think my posts have anything to do with my readers. When I go back and look at posts that I did before I had readers the only real difference I can see is that my grammar was a little more colloquial (uhm, bad?) and I used the F word more often. I do realize which types of posts my readers seem to prefer but I still do the same old stuff I’ve always done. My main purpose is to have a life log if you will. I love being able to do a quick search to find out when something happened. I think if you were to ask Jazz she would say I am exactly the same in person as on my blog (except worse grammar?) whereas if you asked me about her I would tell you that she is way nicer in person than on her blog. But don’t tell anybody, it might make her actually ornery.

  23. I’m lucky 🙂

    Mine is not personal oriented – just business

    I do self censor in that there have been thing where I would **love** to say – &^&@#@$@#

    I don’t – and I do make anonymous most of the conversations I have that point out topical issues.

    That being said – I may write business – but there don’t mean I don’t like reedin them there nice ritin’ funny ones ‘dorlin!

  24. Interesting post and a bit ironic. I got here through a comment you made on Deep Friar’s blog where you called me mean.

    What you waded into was a couple of guys taking the piss out of each other, as only a couple of guys can.

    Its a shame you feel you must censor yourself. I’ve always felt that writing from honesty is best that way you know its really you.

    Regardless, the power of blogs and the way it opens people to ideas, thoughts and new ways of thinking is fantastic. You will find a blog for every interest and mood and obsession.

    Eyeteaguy

  25. I censor myself a lot.

    Generally, I only put things on the blog that I am happy to have in the public record forever.

  26. I write just for myself, but I do self-censor (but then I’m fairly new to the blogosphere and don’t have very many readers yet). Like many others, I try to write mainly about me and my own adventures, and what I write about are things I would freely talk about to friends or family. That being said, only a few of my friends or family members even know that I blog, and they all couldn’t care less and don’t read me much, if at all. So really, I suppose I could write whatever I chose without truly worrying about offending someone I know personally.

  27. hi xup. what i’m interested in is knowing how some of the bloggers who you have met differ from what you thought they would be like? that could be a whole other post!

  28. i’m apparently mixing my meds again and forgot to answer the question and also asked you one.

    in response to your question, i censor what i write BIGTIME.

    i write only what i feel i can get away with without hurting others, revealing certain things about my personal life and my thoughts and feelings.

    everyone has at least one big secret. i would love to have a place to write about it but there isn’t.

  29. Well, I don’t really have a core of readers, so I’m pretty free to say what I please. Plus, my comment button is a bit picky about who it lets leave a comment and Blogger seems to think there is no problem, so I don’t get much feedback. The only person I write about is the only one ever to complain. My “pack mule” seems to think I make her look foolish on occasion. I just say “yeah I’m the one who made you look foolish” hahaha.

  30. i’ve been actually thinking about creating a completely anonymous blog. mine started out as fodder for friends/family who are far away. now, a few more people read, but sometimes i feel like i would vent a bit and that would potentially hurt some people’s feelings, so I may just create a second blog and not tell anyone.

  31. I do censor. Although my blog is about me and the girls, I don’t write anything that would embarrass them. As they get older, this means asking if it’s OK to write about some things. I don’t write about my ex, or my work (except for that wine-influenced post about losing my office, which, coincidentally, garnered my highest number of comments ever).

    I don’t know that I censor more now I’ve met you and other bloggers in terms of content, because I write about my life and family, so I don’t get to choose as wildly varying topics as you do, but I think things when I’m writing like, “Meanie will like this one”, or “I’ll bet XUP will have a snide comment about this.” It kind of heightens my looking forward to reading my comments, because I want to know if the people I’ve met like that particular post.

    I’m often surprised at the posts that do get the most comments. My posts usually get between 11 and 17 comments. Not bad, but not huge. Sometimes when I’m writing, I think “Hey, this is a 10-comment post” and sometimes, “Meh, only a 5-comment post”, but sometimes the ones I slave over have just a few comments, and others I dashed off quickly and are not really about anything at all (like the one where I went to work with foam numbers and letters stuck to my bum) get lots. It’s a mystery.

  32. I must say, though, that although I don’t cater to my readers, I am aware of their sensibilities and who they are. I have a number of things that I’d love to throw out there for discussion… but not to close friends and family. I’d love sharing deeper secrets more anonymously… and am seriously considering a “secret” blog.

    Raino might want to consider the same… it sounds like she’s in the same place as I am.

  33. I censor myself to a certain extent but using Livejournal, I have the option to post things as Friends-Only so only other livejournal users (or open ID users) that I allow can see them. I can allow different people to see different posts so that helps.

    The bad part of this is that there are some posts that I wouldn’t mind if all the world except one person could read, but to keep that one person from reading it I need to hide from all but a few people.

  34. I censor myself to a certain extent. I’ve written a few posts that were just a little too personal and would have been hurtful if the people involved had come across them — so I posted them private. And I don’t write about the people that I know read the blog. (My family and most of my friends have no idea that I blog where I do because I don’t want to be hampered by the knowledge that they might read what I write — not so much because I want to write about them, but because I don’t necessarily want to share my online life with them.) I also try to avoid specifics about my life that would blatantly identify me as me if someone I knew tripped over the blog — if you really know me well in real life and you read the entire blog, you’ll recognize me but you’d have to read it all to be sure. I’m sorry that I told the few people that I told about the blog because even that causes me to self-censor more than I’d like.

    Regarding catering to my readers, I don’t know who most of my readers are beyond the couple (yourself included) who actually comment every now and then. So I just write whatever I was planning to write. Granted, sometimes I think “Ooh, XUP will find this post boring” or “Reader123 will skip that post”, but it doesn’t stop me posting it anyway. 😉

  35. Violetsky – There are a couple of small core groups of Ottawa bloggers that got to know each other and eventually we sort of melded together and expanded to invite/include other local bloggers for breakfasts. If you’re ever in Ottawa I hope you’ll let me know so we can have breakfast. We should really meet before we retire to Paris together.

    Friar – Yes, I read about your great times with the Panther and the Lion. They’ve both been to our blogger breakfasts, too, so maybe they’ll bring you to one, some day and I will be shocked an amazed at how very young you look and seem.

    Pearl – I didn’t realize you had so many different blogs. I’ll have to go search them out.

    Geewits – I’m getting the impression that the answer to this question depends a great deal on what type of blog you have. Mine isn’t a life log, so it makes sense that you would approach your blog differently. And thanks for the skinny on Jazz.

    Elliott – You should have a personal blog as well so you can use some of those other keys on your keyboard.

    Eyeteaguy – I know what you guys were doing and I was being facetious when I called you mean. I love how mean you are with Friar and his regulars. And really, I wouldn’t call it censorship even. I try to be honest about how I feel about stuff, but that doesn’t mean I have to throw everything into the blog that comes into my head either. I do hold things back either because they’re private or because they’re not something I want to share with everyone. Surely you have conversations with close friends about things you wouldn’t necessarily blog about?

    Milan – I think I’d like to see this hypothetical password-only blog of yours. If I give you my email address will you send me the secret decoder ring? urbanpedestrian@gmail.com

    Pinklea – That’s a good way to keep the blog, I think – no friends and family. Also you won’t have anything left to talk about when you see them if they read your blog regularly. That’s one thing I found about meeting up with other bloggers. We have no news to share that we haven’t already read about each other on our blogs!

    Raino – What bloggers are like in real life COULD be a whole post, except I’m not sure that many bloggers would like to be exposed to all and sundry like that. I know I wouldn’t want another blogger to write all about me at breakfast. A short sentence saying it was nice to meet and/or how much fun so-and-so was, but I think that would be all we should be revealing about each other. (I WOULD like to hear your big secret though.)

    Charlene – I don’t know how long you’ve been blogging, but sometimes it takes forever to get a good sized group of regular readers. You’ve got a lovely blog, but I’ve also had problems leaving comments sometimes. You should switch to WordPress or something maybe??

    Meanie – When you say you won’t tell “anyone” you just mean your friends and family, right? You’ll still be wanting other people to read it, right? Let me know when the venting ranting blog is up and running. Please.

    Jobthingy – Good point.

    Alison – Why are you equating me with “snide comment”? And yes, the comment generating thing is very hit or miss. I think a lot of it depends on what people are doing that day, too. Some days it seems everybody is too busy to read the blogs, other days it seems like no one has anything to do BUT read blogs. When you can come up with a comment-friendly post on one of those days, it’s crazy fun.

    Susan – Raino had a secret blog for about 3 days, I don’t know why she closed it down. Maybe there are hidden dangers in secret blogs? We should have asked her.

    Tiana – That’s an interesting feature of LiveJournal. I didn’t realize you could do that. And I know what you mean about sometimes wanting to post something that you can’t because of that one person…

    Louise – So far I haven’t found your posts boring – well, maybe the techie ones just a teeny bit, but overall your blog has a lot of heart and is good to read. And, ya, I try to avoid writing about people I know, too. I sometimes talk about people I knew a long time ago as a segue into a topic. That’s kind of fun.

  36. i need to explain more clearly what i meant in my comment about you writing about your impression was vs what they were really like once you got to meet them was more about writing something very brief like ‘jobthingy seems real wild on her blog and in real life she is real wild’…. lol

    another one may be that i thought you would be really really talkative along the lines of a chatty cathy but you were not. you seem quiet and reserved …. but that could have been that you just didn’t talk to me. lol

  37. Charlene – It’s not hard at all. You go to WordPress, select a template, click a button or two and it brings your whole blog over for you. If I can do it, anyone can.

    Raino – Chatty Cathy, eh? I can run on at the mouth at times, but I’m much more verbose in writing. And ya, I did do that sort of thing the last time we all met (i.e: Alison was a lot taller than I thought she would be. She thought I was shorter than she thought I would be, etc..)

  38. Just read this today and thought of the comments above that mentioned being found on someone else’s blog:

    “Spokeo” is among the newest aggregators. It partners with dozens of social networks. Just join, plug in your email, and it searches your address book. Whether your friends post on one or lots of different social sites, the updates show up on a single page.

    http://www.wkbw.com/news/consumer/24315964.html

  39. I’m true to every post I write, but for every post I write there is one that is left unwritten, because people in my real life read my blog. (A mom friend would be offended if I wrote about my thoughts about her [lack of] parenting skills. A relative would keel over about my thoughts about religion. Etc.)

    If I were truly anonymous and could blast away at everything I wanted to with both barrels, I would. But, I’m not.

    That’s not why I write what I write on my blog. Believe me, there is plenty to share even when I sort it all out.

    But, that being said, I started out this way, so it’s not like things have *changed*…know what I mean?

    I have always written with the understanding that those who you don’t want to read your blog, WILL read your blog…sooner or later…so write accordingly.

    I do, however, write about things that are controversial, and no one sees them. I write in an unpublished form, and maybe someday, they’ll see the light of day. But, again, that’s okay, because it’s for me.

    The things that are for public consumption are out there for the world to see.

    I’ve had people tell me that I write exactly the way I talk. They can hear my voice in my words and in my stories.

    So, really, what you see is what you get. 🙂

  40. First off, let me just say that I am all for a fuzzy wuzzy cat post every week. *swooon*

    Second off, I love this post! I think about this all the time, because I think as far as bloggers go, I’m weird. (I may just be weird in general but never mind that.) I LOVE my friends and family to read my blog, which doesn’t seem to be the norm as far as I can tell. But then I remember my blog is RIDICULOUS and totally ABSURD and doesn’t really have the kind of subject matter that requires thinking much about censorship so I always feel pretty uninhibited. And I love blogging with my readers in mind….catering to everyone to try to entertain them just gives me fits and giggles. So the better I can get to know everyone, the happier and more satisfied I am with the process.

    And I’m so jealous of all the bloggy breakfasts. What fun!!

  41. do ideas just fall out of your head b/c you always have topics that are thought provoking.

    i’ve written in two different capacities, with no one knowing to everyone knowing and i did begin to sensor myself, but for me it was a good thing b/c i was a bit more raunchy in the beginning.

    as well, i made a huge mistake in thinking my posts were anonymous and i wrote some very hurtful things about another human being. despite the fact that i do not like this person, it was very uncool what i did. i wrote a public apology on my blog and personally. not that it erases my mistake but i wanted to make some type of amends for the harm i caused.

  42. Becky – Thanks.. interesting

    CP – Ya, it’s a trade off. You want people you know to read the blog and you want to get to know the people who read your blog, but then there are certain limits to what you can write.

    Lesley- If you ever come to Ottawa, we’ll hold a breakfast especially for you. And yes, your blog is totally unique and fun and more often than not your readers are mentioned or poked fun at within the blog or even in the tags. It’s very cool.

    Leah – Ideas kind of fall INTO my head. There’s always something swirling around in there, the trick is to let something form itself into something blogworthy.

  43. When I’m there at my bloggy breakfast (woot!) can I also take a magical trip inside your head to see the swirling?? (Uh, this sounds like the kind of thing we might need drugs to accomplish.)

    And tip of the hat to Leah. It’s hard to do something like that and own up to it and apologize both personally and publicly. (Extra points for doing so despite not liking the person!)

  44. Pingback: How to Make Pain au Chocolat « Paris Pages