Happy New Day

Well, it’s the last day of 2008 and the tradition is to make resolutions to help make the following year better.  I don’t know who invented this resolution thing, but I don’t think it’s entirely healthy.

First of all, it has been proven by scientific blog polling  that January and February are the vilest months of the year. You’ve just had weeks of stress, revelry, gluttony drinkony, time off and a bit of fun and now you have nothing to look forward to but months of bitterly cold weather (unless you’re in Texas or Tasmania). So, on top of that you want to add depriving yourself of things you enjoy (food, drink, sloth, greed) and forcing yourself to do things you don’t enjoy (exercise, being kind, tightening belt buckles).

My thinking is that whenever you open your eyes each and every morning you have the opportunity to resolve to enjoy that day; to treat yourself well; to treat others well; and to make the most of what you have. You don’t need to make a passel of promises once a year that you couldn’t possibly hope to keep which, in turn, will make you feel like you’ve failed. You can start each day fresh.

One morning you might wake up and think, “Hmmm, today I’m going to have a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast instead of a greasy muffin from the coffee shop.” Or, “Hey, maybe I’ll take a walk at noon today instead of sitting around the cafeteria after I eat lunch.”

And maybe the next day you’ll have a muffin again and maybe you won’t. So if you didn’t get to walk on Tuesday, that’s okay because it was only one day – not a whole year’s plan – and Wednesday is a whole new day.

You might be expecting me to burst into song here…The sun’ll come out, Tomorrow, Bet your bottom dollar, That tomorrow, There’ll be sun!…. but I won’t.

 I’m just saying, whatever you think you want to make better in your life, I don’t think you don’t need to follow someone else’s plan or schedule. Maybe it’s best to just relax and do things one day at a time, or even one hour at a time.

 So, I’m wishing ya’ll a Happy New Day.

25 responses to “Happy New Day

  1. I love this idea SO much. I never make resolutions because it’s just a way to set yourself up for failure and anyway….if you want to make changes in your life, any day is just fine to vow to do that. But with “Happy New Day,” well it’s just like the New Years 12-Step Program: One Day At A Time.

    And so Happy New Day, XUP! This time last year I had no idea of you or your blog, so clearly I did something right in 2008! Woot!

  2. Happy New Year XUP.
    You really are nice. (previous post’s accusations)

    Totally agree with you. Why set yourself up for failure with some big list?

    Little steps. Small, positive steps. They all add up. Take a breath, enjoy each moment.

    Smile and laugh.

  3. Happy New Day to you, too!

    At least here (in my little corner of the world) there is sun almost every day. The temperature was 57-degrees Fahrenheit yesterday, but could easily have been 7. We never know what the day will bring weather-wise!

    Regardless of what’s going on outside your window, may your day bring you happiness.

    🙂

  4. I agree that New Years resolutions don’t generally work. However, I also don’t think that just doing things spontaneously day by day works very well, either. I’ve tried both. If I want to accomplish anything, I need to commit to it. Otherwise my procrastination tendencies overcome my best intentions.

    Have a great New Year!

  5. Happy New Day! I love this post. I hate the idea of resolutions too. Like Lesley said, you’re setting yourself up for failure. It’s not that I don’t set goals, but most things are best accomplished one small step at a time, and tackling things day by day makes more sense. it’s more manageable.

    I wish you wonderful new days in 2009!

  6. I never make resolutions, I’ve learned a long time ago they don’t stick. I go day by day, goal by goal.

    Wishing you a great year filled with new days that are fun and exciting. Enjoy!

  7. Lesley – Happy 2009. Maybe by next year at this time we’ll have actually met face to face!

    Reeky – Thanks dude. Hope your New Years is as good as your Christmas

    CP – Thanks. Lots of sun, but it seems to have the warmth turned off around here.

    Debra – U 2!!

    Mike – Whatever works for you. Not many people can stick to a long-term plan. So sometimes, I think it’s better to just take things one day at a time. But whatever works for you, eh?

    Mo – I guess that’s why all the good 12-step programs go with the one day at a time thing as well. HNY!

    Raino – Can’t wait for the next brunch so I can meet you!!

    OTC – Hope 2009 brings all sorts of wonderful surprises for you, (none of which will be more twins…. not that they’re not wonderful…but too much of a good thing and all…)

    Nat – It’s started out well. So far so good. Too bad I have to go back to work on Monday…sigh…

    UA – The day by day thing seems to be working really well for you. You’ve accomplished so much in the last year! All the best for 2009

    Ellie – Yes! Thanks and same to you. A rockin’ year is exactly what I need.

    Mama Zen – Thanks for stopping by and for the comment! Hope every day is fab!

  8. Wishing you a great 2009, XUP! I enjoy your entertaining writing, so keep up the great work! (And thank you for adding me to your blog roll, too.)

  9. Sky girl – It’s a win-win!

    Pinklea – Thank YOU and my pleasure — who wouldn’t want a pink poodle on their blogroll?

    Geewits – I really am, aren’t I? I scare myself often with my deep insights.

  10. Visiting here from NaBloPoMo.

    I agree it does seem like an oxymoron, these New Years resolutions of ours.

    But we often swing on a pendulum from excess to deprivation and back again. Can’t have one without the other?

    Perhaps the key is to follow Aristotle’s golden mean. Of course, that would mean no goodies for Christmas…

    It is indeed hard being human!

    Grace

  11. I like, and I agree. I’ve been “resolving” to do certain things on and off for weeks, months, even years. when I fall, I just start over the next day (or the day after, or the day after that…) If I was going to wait to start over the next year! Well, that would be disastrous…

  12. Ikleppin/Grace – Welcome! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having a few goodies at Christmas or any other time — the key is to stick to “a few”. Everything in moderation perhaps, rather than “mean”. It’s hard being a human being in the 21st Century in North America. Not every human being has these problems. Thank you for your thoughtful comment and please come back again. Do you have a link to your blog so I can visit?

    Noha – Long time no hear from! I think it’s comforting to know that every new day is full of new possiblities, don’t you?

  13. I found you through Daily Piglet and for some reason read your New Year’s post first. I think it’s exceptional and just the thing I needed to read today. Thank you.

  14. Ah you have some valid points there grasshoppa!! Sorry it’s taken me a bit to get my crazy arse over here…but it’s always worth the trip.

    Happy New Day Every Day to ya!!

  15. DP – Bless you my child. Following other people’s schedules is something I find very difficult to do. That’s one reason this current never-ending transit strike is wearing me down something awful. I have to rely on others to get me to and from work, as well as for any social activity.

    Grandy – Hey, better late than never. Nice to hear from you again.