5 Questions

This “cooperative blogging thingy”[1] comes via Nat. It’s kind of a fun interview exercise because fellow bloggers can email you asking to join in and then you have to email them back 5 interview questions – things you’d like to know specifically about them. Then they answer the questions on their blog and invite other bloggers to join in which means they have to come up with 5 questions for those bloggers. Get it? (Complete instructions are at the end of this post).

So anyway, Nat emailed me the following 5 questions to answer.

Q1: You did something that completely baffles me. You left Halifax and moved to Ottawa. All my life, I’ve been trying to leave Ottawa to move to Halifax. Aren’t you going in the wrong direction?

A1: No! I’m originally from southern Ontario and just lived in Halifax for 9 years. Halifax is a great place to visit. Halifax is even a great place to live for a few years. But, unless you’re from there and have generations of roots there, I would advise against trying to live there permanently. But that’s just my opinion. This is really a question that deserves a long conversation over wine, not something I can explain in a few sentences.

Q2: What’s the single oddest thing about Ottawa?

A2: Oh boy. This is tough because there are a few odd things about Ottawa.  Number One would be how Larry O’Brien ever got elected mayor. I find this baffling. Also, I’m always surprised at how spread out this city is. It’s all over the place.  Not just a collection of communities – which is what one would expect – but just everything.  With a collection of communities you would expect to be able to conduct your day-to-day business within your community. But in Ottawa you can’t do that in most communities because the communities aren’t complete.  You might have a grocery store, but you have to go to another community for a post office and another one yet for a good restaurant and somewhere else completely for a natural food store. The entertainment/sports/arts venues, which you would expect to be centrally located are all over the place, too.  This city demands that all its citizens own vehicles. This has really been brought home to me during this transit strike. I don’t think this is a good thing for any city.

Q3: Why aren’t you an urban pedestrian anymore?

A3: A full explanation for this can be found on my “About” page (see tab above)

Q4: What is the single best?

A4: Nat’s a little scattered, so she didn’t quite finish this question. I will assume she wanted to ask about what I find best about Ottawa. I don’t really know where to start. The bloggers, of course, are the best anywhere. I love skating on the canal. After Halifax, the weather in Ottawa is great. The Centretown/Glebe area is a really nice community with lots of stuff going on, great independent shops, restaurants, pubs, music, art. I want to live there. It’s the most complete community I’ve found in Ottawa.

Q5: I was told as constructive criticism that I’m not as nice as I could be. You strike me as someone who knows how to soften the blows. Do you think nice is over-rated?

A5: Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha!! Nat’s not only scattered, but also a tad deluded. (You’re so funny, Nat. I have no idea where you got the notion that I would be able to answer a question about niceness. But thanks.) No one has ever called me nice before. I’m on the floor laughing. I can only say that you have to be yourself. Any attempt to fake niceness will only come out as fake niceness and that’s kind of nauseating.

___________________________________________________________

Here are the rules if you want to participate in 5 Questions.

  1. Send me an email saying:  “Interview Me” to urbanpedestrian@gmail.com
  2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
  3. You can then answer the questions on your blog.
  4. You should also post these rules along with an offer to interview anyone else who emails you wanting to be interviewed.
  5. Anyone who asks to be interviewed should be sent 5 questions to answer on their blog. I would be nice if the questions were individualized for each blogger.

[1] NO! It’s not a meme. I don’t do memes.

19 responses to “5 Questions

  1. LMAO… I have my own tag now. 🙂

    I have no clue where I was going with question #4. You can tell, I don’t usually read the about pages…

    Great answers. Throw a few my way when you get a moment.

  2. I understand your reasoning behind answer #1 Being a 7th generation Bluenoser, I feel you on this… but I’m sure the same could be said for many other parts of Canada if not the world…

    It’s been over 17 years since I moved from there and I can go years without a visit but when I return it’s as if I never left. Halifax, like the whole of the Maritimes fits me like a warm old wool sweater that my Nan knit… the kind that never itches… Which I guess begs to question why I ain’t there now… well …

    A) Halifax just wasn’t gay enough. LOL sad I know but if you want gay… you go to Mtl.

    B) I WILL return (when, dunno, but like death and taxes, I know I’ll be back there some day)

    In the mean time I cherish and savour my visits back East with all the joy and enthusiasm I do a fine Champagne…

  3. I love that Nat doesn’t know where question #4 was going, either. She reminds me so much of me sometimes it’s uncanny! *high five*

    Halifax does seem beautiful, although I’ve never been. But why would you want to be anywhere but Ottawa? Not only I am here, but it’s also the capital of our glorious country (so, two good reasons to live here).

    Now I have to go read up on why you’re no longer an urban pedestrian… There has to be a good story there!

  4. I did this back in April 2007 (I had to go search through the Archives to figure that out.) It’s fun, isn’t it? Although I definitely enjoyed answering the questions much more than figuring out what to ask other people. I don’t have much of a nosy gene and I struggle with asking questions. I figure if they wanted me to know, they would have blogged it already.

    Good job!

  5. Nat – Yup CON..your own tag. So now I have to interview you, too? I’ll see what I can come up with.

    Kitty – I totally know what you’re saying. I loved Halifax for about 4 or 5 years, but it’s completely different if you’re a native. Probably other parts of Canada are the same, but certainly not too many I would think. And I thought Halifax was very gay friendly. Much more so than Toronto, where I’d lived previously. But then again, I’m not coming from a gay perspective.

    The Maven – Ya, the story isn’t that interesting. Nice that you love Ottawa so much. I’m not sure if it’s somewhere I want to stay forever, but then I’ve never been anywhere I want to stay forever.

    Debra – The questions don’t have to be “nosy” questions. They can just be fun questions. I’m looking forward to seeing how people answer the ones I’ve sent them.

  6. I saw this a couple of years ago and thought it was interesting but I didn’t participate for whatever reason. You posted too quick so I want to respond here to your last post about Christmas in the summer. Everything here would be just like you said except opposite. In the summer it’s too hot to go outside and everyone would be jammed in the house. Christmas here is usually around 55° so people can go outside. Also when it’s 100° people are particularly cranky and that’s not a good time to be around family. Oh, and I’m glad you’re back.

  7. Rusty – Don’t worry, there are still a few fun things to do even if you don’t have a blog

    Violetsky – Not very.

    Raino – Now this is interesting…people who don’t know me thinking I’m nice. I may have to do a whole post about this. But thanks

    Geewits – You can always respond to older posts. I always read and respond to all the new comments no matter which post they’re for. I often get comments on posts from weeks or even months ago. WordPress is very good about listing them in one handy spot for me. Anyway, yes, I can see how Christmas in summer would be a problem in your part of the world

  8. As soon as I am certain that I understand the rules, I will join in! (Too much Christmas chocolate has dulled my senses. Or something.)

  9. If you want to join in just send me an email saying “interview me” and I will send you 5 questions. You post those questions along with your answers in your next blog post. Simple. Except then you should also invite people to email you asking to be interview and then you have to come up with 5 questions for each of them.

  10. Pingback: The interviews so far… « XUP

  11. The whole nice versus not nice thing is very interesting. Would you self-identify as being “direct”?

    I work with a “nice” woman. (I’m sure she’s taking something to get to that state.) I find the perpetually nice people become abrasive.

  12. Mimi – Abrasively nice, eh? Interesting concept. Yes, I think I’m fairly direct. In the next post’s comments I also mention the difference between “nice” and “kind”. Nice seems to be a facade — something you put on to get people to like you, while kind is a genuine concern for others, perhaps?? Thanks for the comment!!

  13. Nice is too candy-sweet. Nice people scare me, as they seem a bit too jacked up on Prozac for my taste.

    Yes, I’d agree that you are direct…very direct. ahem. 😉

  14. OTC – Sorry. Have I been too snarky with you? I think I have sometimes. I don’t mean anything nasty by it. You’re like a little sister that I love to bug, yet have all sorts of love and concern for.