Never in my wildest dreams…

Part of wallowing in nostalgia these last few days has been being surprised at how different everyone’s life turned out.  Once we were all young, idealistic, narcissistic, artistes. We were fun. We were ready to take on the world and make it a better place. We had aspirations. We had dreams. We knew EVERYTHING!

Now we’re all old. Most of us work in mundane, non-art-related jobs. We’re parents, drive SUVs, live in the suburbs. And, interestingly, we’re all pretty happy with our lives.

If you’re under 30, you won’t know what I’m talking about because you still have a whole list of stuff you KNOW you’re going to do with your life.

If you’re over 30, maybe you are exactly where you always wanted to be, but maybe your life has taken a few unexpected twists and turns along the way. 

So, (and I saw something similar someone else’s blog recently, and I’m sorry I can’t remember which one)  finish this sentence: When I was very young, I never in my wildest dreams thought I would…

My answers:

  • Spend my life working in a government office
  • Be this boring (what happened to that artsy commune we were going to form?)
  • Be this poor (doesn’t every young person believe they will be famous and/or a millionaire as an adult? I’m not sure how “commune” and “millionaire” were supposed to reconcile, but they did in my youthful, yetfeeble mind)
  • Get so much joy (and paranoia) from being a parent (growing up the oldest of5 withmuch younger siblings kind of put me off the wholeidea of babysitting for the rest of my life – who knew?)
  • Be lucky enough to get a good kid (my mother always cursed me with, “I hope you end up with a daughter just like you! I totally believed here and was fully prepared for a monster.)
  • Own a computer (when I was a kid, a computer was 12 feet high, took up an entire room, cost billions of dollars and processed data using punch cards, whirring spools as big as your head and a team of highly-trained technology geeks. Also, in the movies, The Computer always ended up taking over the world)

28 responses to “Never in my wildest dreams…

  1. LOL! the computer.. it is SO true.

    i remember ‘hearing’ about the internet and thinking ‘wow that would be the coolest thing. i wonder if i can ever try it.’

  2. I guess I never gave much thought about what my adult life would be like when I was a kid. Like all kids, I had things I wanted to be when I grew up and, later, in high school, careers I wanted to pursue after college. None of those happened.

    If I had it to do over again, I probably wouldn’t change most of the choices I made.

    I do remember walking past a building in the late 60s where computers were being used and thinking that that might be something interesting to get into, but…,

  3. “… I never in my wildest dreams would have had any idea what I was going to be doing with my life in five years” is the closest I could finish that sentence.

    Your post reminds me of the saying “The man who sticks to his plan becomes what he used to want to be.” I think I saw it in the Globe’s misc. section a while back and haven’t forgotten it. 😉

    – RG>

  4. UP – Can you hijack an already hijacked idea? I shall look forward to your post.

    Jobthingy – Did you ever get to try it?

    Mike – I think it’s a good thing we never get to glimpse our future as youngsters … many of us wouldn’t be around to become oldsters. And yet, we’re mostly all content with how our lives have turned out.

    Lebowski – Ya, but they’re cute and little and colorful and have fruit on them and stuff — not nearly as scary as those 12-foot monsters.

    RealGrouchy – First, may I say THANK YOU for actually playing the game. Very vague answer, but at least you gave it a shot. Excellent quote and very relevant. I’m going to paste it to my bulletin board! Thanks

  5. Tania – I don’t know…maybe you’ve already done most of the stuff you wanted to do or maybe you’re a “flying by the seat of her pants” kind of gal? Just ready to see where the wind takes you?

    Chris – How deep

    Violetsky – Between you and me, it was very nice to see that all my old classmates are leading boring lives just like mine, but are still fun and interesting people.

    Jobthingy – WOW! I hope you’ll post about it one day.

    Lost – Ya, once you come to accept that life sucks, things really brighten up somehow!!

    Cedarflame – Have you met Lebowski?? He posited the same theory. You wouldn’t like him though.

  6. When I was very young, I never in my wildest dreams thought I would…

    …NOT be playing music for a living. It’s still the only career choice that ever made me truly happy. People used to actually pay money to see me play. Can’t beat that.

    …Be this poor…although I wouldn’t mind half as much if I were still playing music for a living.

    …Be married a second time. The first was dismal, lasted a year, and I swore off marriage. Never say never.

    …at 51 years old, have beautiful boy/girl twin toddlers – less than 3 years old!

    …Get so much joy from being a father. I never thought I’d want children, and now I can’t imagine my life without them. They make my day every single day.

    …Still be alive at 51. From the time my mother died, when I was 13, I lived my life very hard and fast. When my Dad died when I was 28, it still didn’t slow me down. When I almost died from internal bleeding at 40, it finally changed me.

    …Have yet another chance to become successful.

  7. Becky – What if I’d told you when you were 16, what sort of job you’d have and that you’d be at it for 27 years at least? What would you have done??

    Geewits: Thanks, but I can’t take much credit for that — she pretty much came out good.

    JB- Great response. Our answers are very similar. But, what you maybe don’t realize is that you’ve been successful all along. To live a good life, to love, to parent well, to endure despite hardships and setbacks — that’s success. Everything else is gravy.

    Lebowski – It’s difficult!!

  8. What about “the year 2000”, which is always what we called it, never just “2000”. I never in a million years thought I’d ever get OLD enough to experience that….. now 8 years ago.

  9. Ellie – HA! That’s a whole other blog post in itself. Remember all the crazy stuff we thought was going to happen in The Year 2000? How not just kids, but adults and even scientists had some wacky idea that this was waaaaaay in the future and we were all going to have hover cars and jet packs. What were they thinking? I couldn’t imagine living in such a futuristic time, either — and here we are and most of the stuff never happened, but a lot of other stuff they never even thought of, did happen. Oh, wait — I DID do a whole blog post on it once: https://exurbanpedestrian.wordpress.com/2008/06/26/the-future-aint-what-it-used-to-be/

  10. Pingback: Never Say Never « TurtleHead

  11. “What if I’d told you when you were 16, what sort of job you’d have and that you’d be at it for 27 years at least? What would you have done??”

    Probably go on a 10 year bender…at least. Oh wait, I did that.

    Maybe try a little harder to go to college, knowing I was doing it without parental financial support (including refusing to fill out those loan papers as a co-signer – a necessity, at least back then). Definitely nix drinking.

  12. Oh god, you know apart from not getting married and having a child, everything else has gone to pot. LOL.

    Interesting… I may yet steal this.

  13. Becky- No drinking? More college? That sucks about your parents. Why were they so damn belligerent?

    Nat – That seems to be the general consensus. And feel free to steal. This post is going down as the most stealable one ever. It’s been stolen by a few others. And, also I sort of stole it off someone else’s blog

  14. garsh, i remember computers like that and before “windows” when your stuff was in DOS. those were the days 🙂

    the first few that come to mind:

    never knew i’d live this long.
    have a child, and/or get married.
    make something of myself.
    fight the good fight with the demons.
    watch my dad die before my mom.

  15. Great Post XUP!

    ~ Not only own a computer but hell I have 4!!!! Never would have thunk it.

    ~Work in the fashion industry for a high end retailer. (I love fashion, but am a straight pin in a world of hems)

    ~Love the comment of dailypiglet of fighting and to have the power to win over demons!

    ~ Deal with death the way I do.

    ~ Learn I could be happier alone, than being around people.

  16. Hunter – thanks for coming back and your answers are very intriguing. It’s too bad you don’t have the kind of blog where you could go into detail on some of these.

  17. Pingback: Life’s twists and turns