Those were the days, my friend

Hey, remember just a few posts back when I was talking about Cheez Whiz and the disappearance of Cindy who I met at my very first ever post-secondary institution? No, I haven’t found her, but a whole bunch of people from that very post-secondary institution have found me!!

There’s a first ever reunion this coming weekend of alumni and I guess it took a while for someone who knows someone who knows someone who knows of my whereabouts to get me on the list. Too late for me to attend, but I’ve reconnected with a whole bunch of people I’d pretty much forgotten about.

Alas, none of them know anything about Cindy.

On the upside some crazy photos of a teenaged me have surfaced through all of this which I thought I’d share.

 

It was a small artsy school. Here I am doing something creative.

Here I am in a play. I’m the second one with the fur thing around my neck.

40 responses to “Those were the days, my friend

  1. wow. how exciting that you’re in touch with some old school mates. those are the coolest photos. too bad that you can’t swing the reunion. you’d likely have a blast XUP.

  2. Raino- Now that we’re all finding each other, I’m sure there will be more events. I’ve already got lunches and dinners lined up with a few people for the next time I go down home for a visit.

    Skylark – Please call my office and book an appointment with my secretary. Tell Logan he must have nothing to eat or drink for 12 hours prior to the visit.

    Zoom – Are they still tagged as Therea? I don’t know where they got that from. As far as I remember there was no Theresa in our group. But don’t forget we’re all quite ancient now and our memories are very unreliable.

    Jobthingy – It’s weird though because in my head they’re all still 18 and when I now see their current photos they’re unrecognizable grown-ups.

    MissyM- What’s there to be scared of? I went to a high school thing several years ago and it was so much fun. We all reverted to foolish pubescent behaviour and stayed up all night doing silly stuff. I’m quite looking forward to seeing some of these people again some time soon.

  3. It is Theresa, isn’t it Zoom? I thought so!

    What you said to Jobthingy… that’s exactly how I felt at a camp reunion last year from 1971. A bunch of middle-agers who are still 16 in my head. Some are doctors and lawyers now, one is a famous professor at McGill, a few artists, a few are RETIRED already. Children and even grandchildren. It’s funny to think they’ve each had their own lives since then. I always imagined they were part of my life as I’ve lived it.

    PS. Logan can’t go more than 6 hours without eating. Perhaps you can look at only 1 ear. I’ll book an appointment.

  4. Robin – Brushing, blow-drying and ironing. Nowadays they have lots of products and specialized instruments for that though, so it’s a little nicer to your hair and you get much better results. You can see mine is getting kind of dry at the ends in that photo. I’m actually surprised I had any left with all that torture I put it through.

    Missy – Thanks. I credit all the theatrical make-up.

    Skylark – It’s a really freaky feeling. Like sometimes when you’re watching those TVO movies from the 40s or 50s and at half time they have interviews with the stars today. One minute you see them in the movie all young and lovely and the next they’ve aged 50 years. Like some sci-fi thing. (PS: I should also mention that I only work on fake animal masks. Is Logan a fake animal mask? PSS: I actually made that mask from a mould of my face!! I was so talented once upon a time…sigh…)

  5. Thanks for sharing these! I love photos like this. You were so pretty! But you probably still are… I don’t think I’ve ever met you. 🙂

  6. Very cool.

    A couple of the people I’ve reconnected with are not much like the people I thought I knew in school…, and I don’t mean that in a positive way. I’m sure that they would be very nice at a reunion or get together, but I’m not sure I would be comfortable after some of the stuff that has been forwarded to me. Of course, I only went to that school for 2 1/2 years, where most of the rest had known each other since grade school. Plus its been 38 years — OMG! — since we graduated, and I haven’t seen any of them since 1971.

  7. I’ve never been to a school reunion but have reconnected with some old friends and it is a weird feeling – we’re all grown up and haven’t seen each other in about 30 years, yet it feels somehow comfortable and ageless.

  8. Pity it was a school play and not an actual protest; that would have been cooler.

    Was “victim of educational propagada” an intentional typo on the sign?

    – RG>

  9. Em – Well, I sure don’t look like this anymore, but thanks.

    Lebowski – Okay, I’ll try to explain it to you one more time. My hair is naturally curly. Back in the day I used to torturously straighten it to within an inch of its life every freakin’ day!!! Because straight hair is the socially acceptable “cookl” and that sort of stuff was important to me when I was young. Now I see that whole process as foolish and incredibly time-consuming, so I leave my hair in its natural state. What’s so difficult to understand about that???????????????

    Mike – A lot of stuff happens to people in 38 years that’s gotta impact who they become. I’d be more worried about the people who stayed exactly the same as they were at 18. Having said that I’m glad I won’t be going for the whole weekend thing. I’d like to exchange some more chat with them for a while and then meet maybe for an afternoon or evening. That ought to be enough for a start. Then, we’ll see.

    Violetsky – That’s pretty much been my experience with people I’ve re-connected with, too. Of course we usually reconnect in a in some sort of setting that makes it easy to get back into that mindset of who you were back when you knew each other.

    RealGrouchy – Funny thing — we were wondering about that error on the weekend. Was it deliberate? No one remembers. We figured however that we had a pretty strong sense of irony back then, so it probably was.

  10. “We all reverted to foolish pubescent behaviour… ”
    I don’t have to revert to it, I’ve never totally abandoned it.

    I have some wonderful stories about people with whom I have reconnected on the internet, but won’t bore you with them here.

    I also count myself lucky that I have five friends from my high school days (we graduated in 1976 and 77) who are still very close. We don’t always communicate as often as we could or should and haven’t all been in the same place at the same time in about 20 years, but when we do communicate or get together in smaller groups, the total comfort level is still there.

  11. That happened to me on Facebook. We send emails. Fírst it’s a list of who married who, then what he’s doing now.
    Then…

    a list of all the people who were dead. I’m 38. The list was long. Freaked me the ckuf out.

  12. Geewits – I don’t think I would have been up for an entire weekend with people I haven’t seen in a million years anyway. We’ll hook up sometime over the next couple of months. They’re all within a few hours drive. So no big deal. Right now I’m just having fun catching up via email and Facebook.

    Bandobras – I should probably say a gracious thank you and leave it at that and not suspect the level of your standards or alcohol consumption

    Bob – See? Proves my point about you not being a grown up. You’ll change your tune once you get possession of that house, mark my words!! And, yes, I did read all about your high school gang of enduring friends. Very cool. You should link to your blog when you comment so people can go visit you

    Lebowsi – Don’t think of it as change. Think of it as me not changing something now that I used to change before.

    Nat – Yikes!! So far I haven’t heard from anybody dead…that is to say, I haven’t heard about any of our classmates being dead. But there are a lot not accounted for so I’m sure some of them are dead. (PS – you’re allowed to say “fuck” on my blog – it’s rated AA)

  13. Don’t you love it when life offers those unexpected gifts like this??

    And don’t you love it when you’re Totally HAWT???

    Hmmmn. I can only think of a few people from my past I’d care to reconnect with. For the most part, I’m good leaving my past in the past. I like to think of myself as a totally different person now. Reinvented. Like Madonna. Only with less money. And smaller quads.

  14. Nice blog bigbrobob – I read every post on the first page too!

    Back to the older image thing – I often wondered if aged movie stars ever got depressed looking at their much younger and beautiful selves in old movies. But then again, maybe their egos are such that they’re still reliving the moment (after having taken down all the mirrors).

  15. Bob – Pshaw! You seem to handle yourself pretty well around Facebook

    Lesley – Funny thing….when I was a teenager I usually felt anything but hot, but now I’d love to look like that teenager…sigh… And, I never actually thought I’d want to reconnect with any of these people either. Not because I didn’t like them, but because, you know, that part of my life is over, done, finished, forgotten. BUT, now that they’ve been in touch, I actually wouldn’t mind sitting down over a few drinks with them.

    Becky – I think that’s what the whole cosmetic surgery craze in Hollywood is all about. Stars can’t even bear looking at themselves 5 years in the past without rushing out and having something nipped and/or tucked.

    Kimberly – Thanks. I’ll try.

    DP – Thank you, yoda. I’m a little bit in love with my 18-year-old self right now.

    Aziza – Ya…take lots of pictures of yourself while you’re young, so you can prove to your kids that you weren’t always the wrinkled old harridian that’s making their lives a misery

  16. UP – They’re actually from arts college, not high school — so it’s kind of cheating since I’m layered with theatrical make-up in one of them.

  17. Aziza – Yup, your youth never truly leaves you. It just keeps coming back to haunt you in the form of fat, middle-aged people

  18. Isn’t that shirt in the art school photo one of the worst ever gifts? I guess even the worst gifts serve a purpose.