Early Sunday Morning at Lansdowne Market

First things first — breakfast in the food tent.

While we were there, we put our names in for the weekly food basket draw. Here’s the market host collecting donations for the baskets from all the vendors.

Then we bought honey from these bees.

And some misshapen cucumbers.

We followed the caliope sounds to this organ grinder.  No monkey.

Oh boy — mushrooms. Lots and lots of wonderful, fabulous mushrooms. Don’t touch them though or the nice French lady will get very angry.

We had to stop and get some fruit from this vendor from Beamsville. Beamsville is down near Niagara Falls. It’s only his second week here and the fact that he’s not local caused a bit of controversy. He left at 11:00 pm last night in order to get here for 6:00 am. I asked him if it was worth it. He said it was last week. (The peaches and plums were great. I hope they let him stay).

I didn’t buy any garlic because I still have a bunch, but the garlic people were very jolly looking among their garlic, so I wanted to take their picture.

By this time we were loaded down with goodies and wished we had one of these handy pack-poodles.

For the next 3 weeks the Lansdowne market will be along O’Connor Street between Homwood and Fifth Avenue because of the SuperEx. If you have parking problems, they’re offering a free shuttle service on Sunday’s from St. Paul’s University parking lot.

10 responses to “Early Sunday Morning at Lansdowne Market

  1. I fell gypped and lied-to.
    We featured the market last weekend on A-Channel News, and the market president was bragging about the 100-mile radius thing, and said if it’s not grown or made within 100 miles, you can’t sell it there.
    Geez, if you can’t trust a farmer, who can you trust?

  2. Bob – There was quite a bit of controversy about allowing the farmer from Beamsville to sell at the market, but he’s only selling things that don’t grow within a 100 mile radius of here, so they figured they’d give it a try. Some people are quite upset about it, others are happy to have fresh, juicy peaches that aren’t from a supermarket. Personally, I’d rather have him than all those vendors at the downtown market who just sell grocery store produce. He comes an awfully long way — Kitchener is so much closer – I don’t know why he bothers.

  3. Great post and pictures. I love farmers market even though the produce they sell is a bit more expensive than the market, you support the locals and stuff you purchase hasn’t travelled a million miles to get to your table.

    I loved the poodle! So handy too! I usually have these big/heavy plastic bags I’ve been collecting, great for putting tons of stuff. I have a basquet on wheels that I usually take if I have to do a big shop but it’s very awkward to negotiate in the busy market.

    I can imagine people having an issue with a guy from Niagara Falls and yet, their peaches are sooooo good. But wow, driving all this distance? yikes… it MUST be good money for him!

  4. UA – I was quite amazed that it would be worth his while to drive all the way out here, too. He comes alone though and hires a bunch of locals to work the stand with him. There were at least 6 other staff, maybe more. That can’t be cheap either.

    Geewits – Glad to have provided a chuckle. No we didn’t do the wagon ride. I always feel sorry for those horses having to drag a bunch of people around the streets.

    Lesley – I think there are rules about monkeys these days and what kind of jobs they’re allowed to do or something.

  5. Dannnnnng. I know you’re right. It’s too bad though: The world could be made even that more interesting through the integration of many more monkeys into our daily lives.

  6. I LOVE farmer’s markets! XUP, if you work in the NCR and you want to, look me up in the government directories. I’m the only Noha at Industry Canada, so I should be fairly easy to find.

  7. Lesley – You’re right, of course. There’s nothing that a few minutes with a monkey can’t cure.

    Noha – Found you! See your inbox.