The Dreadful Confession

Thank you so much for the delightful meme, Woodsy.  Once upon a time I was doing a meme a week, so I vowed never to meme again, but since it’s you asking I’ll do just this one more. I wouldn’t do this for anyone else, mind you, but your mesmerizing powers of seduction have overwhelmed me. But I’m not tagging anyone else though, because the madness has to stop somewhere.

Also, this is going to be almost impossible because…. well, the shocking truth is that I don’t listen to music.  I know. I know. You’re all thinking I must be a horrible, soulless person – inhuman even.  I just find it very difficult and even aggravating to have music playing somewhere near my ears.

I do like music.  I appreciate music and musicians.  I am in awe of people who can make music. I like all sorts of music.  I am aware of and have seen and heard a lot of fine music.  I like it when I see it performed live  and I can sit (or stand) and experience the music. At one time I worked for a symphony and I would have gladly worked there for free because I got to go to all the concerts. There are few things I like better than going to see and hear a good musician or band or orchestra.

I don’t have a CD collection. I have some CDs.  I’m not sure where they all came from – gifts, probably.  I don’t shop for music. I can’t imagine thinking about choosing music to download onto an iPod and then walking around with said iPod in my ear.

 Sometimes I’ll put a CD on if people are over for dinner or drinks or something because they seem to expect it.  But on my own, the house is quiet.  I don’t like walking or running or working with music on.  I don’t like talking over music in restaurants or pubs.  I find background music in shops and even in movies very, very annoying. Always have.

I know I’m in the minority because 90% of the people I see every day are plugged into their personal music devices. And I know most people have music on in their cars and in their homes almost all the time. Perhaps I experienced a severe musical trauma when I was a child or something, I don’t know. 

Anyway, in order to fulfill this one and only request Woodsy has ever made of me, I will think hard and come up with songs that I think I might like to hear someone play for me right now.

 The Meme

 List seven songs you are into right now. It doesn‘t matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring/summer. Post these instructions in your blog along with your seven songs. Then tag seven other people to see what they’re listening to.

  1.  Man of Constant Sorrow – Bob Dylan
  2. So Long Marianne – Leonard Cohen
  3. Hallelujah – kd lang
  4. The End – Doors
  5. D’yer Maker – Led Zepplin
  6. Jockey Full of Bourbon – Tom Waits
  7. Champagne and Reefer – Muddy Waters
17 responses to “The Dreadful Confession

  1. Despite your disclaimer/confession, great choices, XUP! Nothing wrong with some silence. I get tired of this whole plugged in generation. And just saying that makes me feel old.

  2. I’m one of those few who prefer quiet also. And there are over 1000 cds in the house. Mr. Jazz is one of those “can’t deal with quiet” people.

    That,s my theory and I’m sticking to it. Some people can’t deal with quiet – maybe because it promotes thinking?

  3. If you’re a soulless person, then count me in; I must be soulless too. I hate ambient noise. Music and/or TV playing constantly in the background makes me nuts. My preference is quiet. I listen to NPR in the truck on my way to work, partly because I enjoy it and partly because it helps me transition into someone who interacts with people by the time I get there.

    One of my coworkers plays ’80s Hair Music on her computer all night while we’re working. I occasionally ask her to turn it down, but we finally had it out one day. Her right to blast heavy metal at work ends abruptly when it makes my work environment intolerable. I told her if she can’t manage to play it a LOT quieter, I’ll take it to HR.

    We’ve managed to work our way back to a civil, if quiet, working relationship.

  4. Zoom – kd and Lenny… a dynamic combo. Maybe I should have mentioned Real Fine Friend by Andrea SK as well? That’s a pretty awesome tune.

    Aggie – Let’s go shake our sticks at some young whipper snappers, dag nabbit. Also glad you like my choices

    Jazz – How ironic. Jazz/quiet… I think maybe I just can’t concentrate on more than one thing at a time.

    Ev – Oh good – a soulless sister. I sometimes listen to the radio in the morning, but mainly to get the news and weather. Once I took yoga and they kept playing soothing zitar music in the background. Drove me mental. I always left class totally frazzled. Now I do yoga at home by myself in the quiet — except for some birds chirping outside. That’s okay.

  5. I’m the odd one, I like both 🙂 Quiet when I need it, music when I need it. I like the balance.

    What I don’t do though, is impose my music taste/needs on others. So I wear headphones. Works for me at work, especially when it’s crazy like right now.

    For the record, I don’t think not liking music in the background makes you soulless, quite the opposite. It’s knowing what works for you! I also think it’s being comfortable in your own place/skin so you can be with or without music.

  6. I love kd lang. I’ve seen her twice in concert and I have found her to be entertaining, adorable and, best of all, her voice is as clear and beautiful in person as it is on a recording. She’s one of few artists these days who isn’t so overproduced that they sound nothing like the recorded versions of their music.

    Hymns of the 49th parallel is one of the best albums of the last 5 years.

  7. Well, in MY work environment – if the music stops, it means we’re off the air, so – yes, constant music at work, and in the car on the commute in both directions. Sometimes loud, sometimes not, all depending on the mood of the moment.
    I also played in a rock group (loud 80s hair music) professionally before getting radio, so I can tolerate people who like silence occasionally, but only occasionally.
    😉

    I love silence on a Sunday morning, reading whatever and having coffee. The twins break the silence pretty early, however, so it’s a treasured moment. Also, when I put my little boy to bed, he requests, “let’s listen”, and I open his bedroom window, and hold him up so he can look out, and we listen to the silence of the night, and look at the stars, with the very occasional dog barking, and the wind through the trees. Best music in the world.

    k d lang has one of the most perfect voices on Earth.
    That Tom Waits tune is from my favourite Waits album (on which 9th and Hennepin would be one of my all-time favourite pieces). Familiar with Champagne and Reefer, but not the song about them. However, if you get a chance, you should (in one of your ‘in the mood for music’ moments) listen to White Boy Lost In The Blues by Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee. From your choices, I think you might like it.

  8. Oh, XUP, I am tickled that my mesmerizing powers of seduction have overwhelmed you… your music choices are intriguing and appealing…

  9. UA – I’ve tried music at work because the woman in the next cubicle has a very annoying voice and is on the phone all day long chatting to everyone about what she seems to think is her fascinating life — she should get a blog like the rest of us. Oh, and the music doesn’t drown her out — just makes me doubly irritated. But you rock on, UA!!

    Linsey – Isn’t she the best? And there are always so many interesting people at her concerts.

    JB – Champagne & Reefer — a very cool tune. I believe the Stones have recently recorded it as well. I will endevour to somehow listen to this White Boy…. song some day. Maybe.

  10. Not to take anything away from kd lang, but if you want to hear another absolutely beautiful version of Hallelujah, try Patricia O’Callaghan.

    I always have music on, wherever I am. I even use the sleep timer on my satellite radio to put me to sleep every night. Sometimes, it has the reverse effect, which is what the “Off” button is for.

    It’s not because I live alone that I like music on all the time. I have always been that way, since I was a wee lad stealing my Mom’s kitchen radio, and taking it to my room. At work, I listen to music through my computer. When I worked in the MCTV newsroom in Timmins, I always had CMT on one of the monitors. The understanding was that if it annoyed anyone, turn it off, because the annoyance level was more counter-productive than my enjoyment level was productive.

  11. At some point someone is going to backtrack one of these memes and when they’re done they’ll probably be looking at their own back.

    I have to say, XUP, this is a pretty mellow list… like tapping the bong contemplative wafting smoke across the moon kind of mellow. I think “Jockey Full of Bourbon” may be the most up tempo choice on your list…

    I’ve got each of those albums, except the Muddy Waters which needs to be replaced.

    If you get the chance I think you’d enjoy these:

    Kris Kristofferson “This Old Road”

    Bruce Springsteen “We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions”

    Robert Plant & Alison Krauss “Raising Sand”

    The Killers “Sam’s Town”

    K-OS “Atlantis: Hymns for Disco”

    Johnny Cash “American IV: The Man Comes Around”

    The Flaming Lips “At War With The Mystics”

  12. Woodsy – I’m glad I was able to tickle you…

    Bob – I guess it depends on how on top of each other you are at work. You couldn’t play music in my office without it disturbing at least a dozen people. I guess that’s why they invented ear buds. I see a lot of those around the office.

    Gabriel – Ya, I’m a pretty mellow person. You’ve described me perfectly – bong wafting and all. I have something of an aversion to Bruce Springsteen, but I’ve enjoyed selections from the rest of your list — except those Lip people. I don’t know them. But thanks for the suggestions. I’ll see what I can do about livening up a bit.

  13. Hmmm, am now suddenly very aware that I also do not listen to music nearly as much as I used to. When did that happen, I wonder? I have no idea how ipods actually work. And I have only 9 cds – one of which is kd’s hymns of the 49th parallel. I do listen to music in the car, all the time, or I go crazy.

  14. Oh yeah good ole Bob Dylan!

    Not much of a story to the blog name.
    I have always wanted a horse (race horse preferably) and since I have never had that happen i just took the name i was going to name it and started using it. (Hunter is my last name)

    Live in the big city so no room for any horses!

  15. Violetsky – Strange isn’t it? As a teenager, music seems to be more important, but then again, I know lots of grown-ups who are music fanatics, too.

    Hunter – Interesting — and why/how did you happen to decide to do a fashion blog? Is that your profession or just something you’re keenly interested in?